Skip to content

In the Words of the Kindergarten Cop

March 13, 2012

It’s been an… interesting…week.

  • Three visits to the clinic.
  • Six hours in the ER.
  • Six shots (one IV).
  • One CAT Scan. One MRI. Two neurologists.
  • And, a headache that just wouldn’t quit.

I don’t have a history of headaches, or migraines. Just little ones that go away with a little ibuprofen or tylenol. But this one wouldn’t. It wouldn’t go away, or at least, it wouldn’t stay gone. I was given all kinds of big drugs, but to everyone’s bafflement, it wouldn’t go away. Eight whole days.

I was so. tired. of hurting.

And thus, I spent the last three days being subjected to all manner of scary tests and exams. In the middle of all of this mayhem, I looked over at Gabe, my support, my woobie, and told him that I was scared to have the brain scan. “What will they find in there?!” I asked, rhetorically.

His reply? “I’m looking forward to finding out. I’ve been wondering for the last 14 years.”

Always The Gabe.

But the good news is, in the words of Arnold Schwarzenegger…

Turns out I DO have a history of migraines – three to be exact, but three is enough. Funny thing – all that stuff I was taking for little headaches was the cause of my headaches.  A little thing called the rebound effect. Caffeine, which is so often touted for it’s efficacy against headache? Poison! Huge rebound effect. Excedrin? As my neurologist put it: “It’s the crack cocaine of analgesics. The first one’s free, the rest you pay.”

Now I’m on a restricted diet and 30 days of migraine meds to get it all under control. And by restricted, I mean, boring and lifeless. No chocolate. No cheese. No wine. No nuts.

As Uncle Dr. Bob put it so aptly:

Pourquoi manger?
Pourquoi boire?
Pourquoi vivre?

I know! Seriously! But it is rather nice to not be in pain anymore. So I guess I’ll survive.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosie permalink
    March 13, 2012 8:00 pm

    Glad that they are figuring things out. How on earth will we have dinner without a little wine? 😉

  2. March 13, 2012 9:23 pm

    You poor thing! I feel like if this were reversed, you’d be reminding me how it’s like being pregnant, without the bundle to look forward to in the end. You’ll survive my dear, and when you’re done, champagne for everyone!

  3. Wendy Power permalink
    March 13, 2012 9:57 pm

    Ugh. I’ve been there – that analgesic rebound just stinks. Nuts, wine (big reds especially, le sigh), chocolate, cured meats, and aged cheese are all migraine triggers for me. So are large barometric pressure swings, not getting enough sleep, getting too much sleep, not eating at normal intervals, pregnancy and other hormone changes…basically, being alive and walking around gives me migraines. Ask your doctor about B2 and CoQ10; they seem to help a lot of people, the B2 especially so.

  4. Kari Coppinger permalink
    March 13, 2012 11:48 pm

    Wow, had been a little worried there when you were earlier talking about said headache. Glad it’s no more serious than it is, sorry it’s as serious as it is. Hope the next 30 days bring good healing.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

