Skip to content

A Mystery and Big Guns

March 28, 2012

Last night, as I was crawling into bed, I threw back the covers, sat down, and felt something hard and sharp under my hand.

It was a tooth.

Maybe it’s from Sophie-the-Coon-Cat?

Nope. It’s a human tooth.

A teeny-tiny baby tooth, looks to be like one of the lower incisors. A bit of the root still sharp and ragged.

*pause*

What the heck is it doing in my bed?! 

Let me remind you that my boys are nearly 5 and nearly 9. The five year old still had all his teeth, last I checked when tucking him in to bed. The 9 year old lost all the front ones a long time ago. The most recent one I disposed of promptly, lest I get caught glitter-handed and guilty after making the midnight drop.

I am flummoxed. I cannot fathom how this baby tooth – someone’s baby tooth – appeared magically in my bed when it wasn’t there yesterday. Or even this morning.

Maybe the tooth fairy got lost. Maybe she doesn’t need as many as she thought, so she’s returning them now?

I am baffled.

 

One a side note – Scrappy appears to be cutting a molar. We were looking at it last night and Gabe asked him: “Show me your gums. Do your gums hurt?”

Scooby runs in, as if on cue, flexing his wirey arms. “Did someobody say guns?! I’ve got guns for you!”

There is too much testosterone in my house. The end.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. melody halfenger permalink
    March 28, 2012 10:53 am

    Did you check Gabe’s teeth??

    BTW…..Still laughing when I think of Scooby telling you to check out his guns!! I love reading about being a boy mom since I only have one girl, a step daughter and two grand daughters. Loved your post about the 10 reasons you love being a boy-mom. I must admit some of them made me a bit jealous. I just love being a MOM. PERIOD.
    Thankfully I can borrow boy children whenever I want to….in fact some parents even encourage this!

  2. March 28, 2012 11:41 am

    You need to buy Scooby two tickets to the gun show.

  3. Kari Coppinger permalink
    April 3, 2012 8:42 am

    Life is never dull!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

