Skip to content

The Best Laid Plans…

April 4, 2012

I’ve heard it said that, when one finds oneself facing the same challenge over and over again, it’s because God is still trying to teach you a lesson you have not yet learned.

Three weeks ago, I posed this on my Facebook wall:

You know that awesome feeling you get when, after an illness or family emergency, you finally feel your life getting back on track and finding normal? Yeah, I feel like that

See, a month ago exactly, I was diagnosed with migraines. I spent a week in misery, going back and forth to the hospital, until they determined that the headaches were, truly, “Just a migraine” and not something worse.

And, exactly one month before that, Gabe had shoulder surgery. What we expected to be “no biggie” was far worse than anticipated, and involved a post-op dark-o-the-night rush to the ER.

Each time, I felt like I lost an entire week of my life. Unscheduled upsets, throwing us off kilter and out of routine. Every time, just when I thought I was getting my groove back, here we go again.

This week The Gabes found ourselves, once again, rushing to the ER. Three hospital runs in three months. You. Have. Got. To. Be. Kidding.

My kids didn’t want me to be lonely, all by myself at the house all day…so they left some friends to keep me company.

I know there is a lesson in all of this. Surely there is. The controlling Choleric in me is not in control, at the moment, of anything. A long, gorey story short – here am I, foot up high, out of the loop and at the mercy of others for my every want and need. And the mercies have been plentiful, abundant. Indescribable generosity and friendship that goes way above and beyond. Way, waaaayyyy above.

Holiday coming up – every plan laid derailed. A class party that I was hosting – left to others. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING, is going according to plan this week. This month. This year…

Maybe that’s the lesson…the best laid plans…

If I figure it out, I’ll let you know.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 9:19 pm

    Man! You say, “The best laid plans…” Reading that, I say, “When it rains, it pours.” You poor Gabes. If I can bring anything by, you know where to find me. Anytime. I’ll be praying for your recovery, and NO MORE ER RUNS!

  2. pastordt permalink
    April 5, 2012 7:53 am

    So, so sorry, Adelle. I’ve had seasons like that, too – and they’re not fun. Lessons are learned, sure, but GEESH!! Couldn’t they have been learned some other way?? Praying you will receive the love of others with love and good cheer. Soon enough you’ll be on the giving end again.

  3. Sharon Garibaldi permalink
    April 5, 2012 9:58 pm

    When I heard what happened to your foot, I felt incredible empathy, because if anyone can understand what it feels like to have your foot hurt, I can. I’m sure yours is far more painful than mine. I’m praying for quick healing, relief from pain, and enjoyment of your forced relaxation time.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

