Skip to content

Ode to A New Friend

April 11, 2012

I despised you, in the beginning.

You were plebian, and passe. Gauche – I swore you’d never step foot in my house, no, not ever.

Never.

Never is a long time. And times do change.
He needed you. In such pain, he really needed you. Still, I wondered “What will they think of me?” I was above you, even then.

I relented – there was nothing else I could do for him when you were all he needed. You drew us in – your insouciant appeal. You made him easy.

There was one night. You carried me, all night long between the darkness and suffering.

The tide then turned.

Just months since, I’m with you every day. Hours we’ve shared. You made me easy.

Even Sophie was altered, laying sole claim. The price of your friendship is a cat on your lap. You are hers.

I am sunk, my resolve faded, joining ranks of patriarchal television comedians from decades past.

How did we ever live without you La-Z-Boy?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 9:09 am

    Haha, this is funny but quite true…

  2. April 11, 2012 9:41 am

    Oh my gosh! I was thinking blankie? Some kind of plant? Oh, LaZboy! Yeah, can’t picture it in your house. I’m glad it’s served it’s purpose of being comfy well, though. I’m also sure you went for one of those models that don’t QUITE look like a LaZboy, yes? You should name it Rosita!

  3. April 11, 2012 11:47 am

    Haha!! You’ve given in! Love the ode!

  4. Danielle H permalink
    April 11, 2012 6:33 pm

    ha ha 🙂 One somehow ended up in the Zone. Matt doesn’t want it there, and though it is hideous in some ways, I secretly wouldn’t mind curling up in it in my living room with a good book and a blanket! Alas, no room-it’s ginormous!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

