Skip to content

Meeting Milestones With Miles: Happy Next Birthday To Me

April 16, 2012

Mabry Hill, Blue Ridge Parkway, Floyd County, Virginia

I have a Milestone birthday coming up in 2013. We shan’t discuss which one, but it’s a biggie. I’m trying to think how best to celebrate this. A friend who’s gone before suggested that the celebrating last all year, with something special every month. Heck yeah, I’m all for that! There will definitely be a party. But what else?

Back story: I was born in Dixie land (and I still know all the words, left coast upbringing and all). I left at the age of 9, but I’ve hankered to go back all my life. I may be a California girl through and through, but a little bit of my heart is still in Dixie. My earliest memories are of the Virginia Tech duck pond and fireworks in front of Burress Hall. Mabry Mill and apple butter, and the Blue Ridge Mountains.

And then I had an epiphany. The most fabulous, brilliant, wonderful idea. I’m great at hatching fabulous and brilliant and wonderful ideas, by the way. Sometimes they happen, sometimes they don’t. But if you don’t write them down, they’ll never happen. And thus, I write.

I have now waved goodbye to THREE close friends who have abandoned me moved to Franklin, TN.

And, one of my oldest friends, going all the way back to the very day of my birth, lives in Thurmont, MD.

If you look at a map, you will see why I got so excited.

What’s in the middle? Blacksburg. Virginia Tech. The Blue Ridge Parkway. Dixie.

How totally amazing and wonderful would it be to fly into Nashville, hoot it up with my gal pals, and then road trip the 660 miles to Maryland? So many wonderful things along the way, reconnecting with my roots only being one of them. The road is peppered with friends and stopping places. If I can convince one (or all ) to come along for the ride, then we’re talking stratospheric. Legendary, unforgettable. Which is how milestone birthdays should be, don’t you think?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 1:49 pm

    If you can swing it, go for it!! Life is what you make it, dearie. Next month I will hit a huge birthday milestone. I stutter whenever I say it out loud, because it just can’t be true….yet. Oh well. It sure beats the alternative, if you know what I mean. How lovely it would be to spend the next year planning your great adventure and celebration of your mile”stone” birthday!!

  2. April 16, 2012 2:08 pm

    DO IT!!! Way to dream big, Adelle!

  3. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    April 16, 2012 3:25 pm

    Love it! What a great way to connect with friends and explore new and old territory. If you can time the trip right to have beautiful weather, it sounds perfect!

  4. Cari permalink
    April 19, 2012 6:39 pm

    If you add Texas to that list, I’m in!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

