Skip to content

Worth Repeating: The Book LIst

April 30, 2012
I love to read, big surprise, but what I love to read is wildly varied. I read fiction and non-fiction, and usually at the same time. But there are certain books – very special books – that I read over and over again. Why? Because the prose is simply exquisite, beautiful, lyrical words. Words that make me laugh with their double meaning and cry with the weight of their grief. I cannot get enough of the words. That’s what this list is for – a list of beautiful words and beautiful stories. In no particular order:
For most of these I’ve written a review. If you’re interested, you can find them, and others, under the category “Worth Repeating.”

I’ll add to this list when it seems appropriate to do so. Have suggestions? By all means send them. Leave a comment and let me know what’s at the top of your all-time list! Many of these were referred to me by readers and friends, so keep the ideas coming!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    April 30, 2012 12:23 pm

    Anything by Kristen Hannah! But loved Winter Garden!

  2. Bonnie permalink
    May 5, 2012 12:22 pm

    THANK YOU!!! 🙂
    I took a course on Steinbeck while getting my MA in English. I adored East of Eden. The way Steinbeck is able to portray characters from all walks of life is wonderful. Most of all, I appreciate his love of our language. My favorite passage turned into a response paper that I throughly enjoyed writing. The passage is a question about the meaning of the word “Timshel.” It is a marvelous book that I highly recommend. If you enjoy it, then a trip to Monterey and Salinas make for a great follow up to see most of the locations.
    Thank you, again, Adelle! I love recommendations for good books.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

