Skip to content

What I Learned From Living in Maine

May 9, 2012

  • Maine is the only state in the union that has used to have a dead animal on the license plate.
  • Fluffer Nutters. You just have to have one to understand.
  • Hellman’s and Best Food’s are really the same thing.
  • Cheddar cheese is not supposed to be orange.
  • “Sharp Cheddar” in California isn’t really.
  • American Chop Suey. I still think it’s weird.
  • “Ave” is not an abbreviation after all.
  • Hamburg. That’s it.
  • Everyone goes to the back door. Everyone.
  • Snow boots really do look good with a suit.
  • If you had L.L.’s names you would have abbreviated them, too.
  • Manual-top convertibles (without a functioning heater) are not a good idea.
  • There are five seasons, not four. (Winter, Mud, Spring, Summer and Holy-Cow-That’s-AMAZING!)
  • Mexican food really isn’t.
  • In a pinch, a credit card will work as an ice-scraper. (Just don’t expect to go back to using it as a credit card again.)
  • “Ayunh” is kind of like “aloha” in Hawaiian. It means a lot of things.
  • Lobster claws, not tail. The end.
  • Don’t believe them when they tell you that first-timers HAVE to eat the tamale.
  • I can pronounce AND spell Winnipesaukee, Katahdin, Piscatquis, and Aroostook.
  • Going to ”camp” does not involve tents.
  • Old OB and Santa Cruz really aren’t that different.
  • Horny teenage male moose are the most lethal.
  • 40 degrees actually feels pretty warm and balmy after a winter of 10 below.
  • 10 below doesn’t feel much different than 10 above. It’s just cold.

Lastly, wanna experience a little bit of Maine on the left coast? Go to Mendocino. The original settlers of the area were from Maine, and finding the rocky cliffs familiar, they built a village that is very like something you’d find on the craggy, New England coast.

Photos: If I look depressed in this last one, it’s because I was BAWLING. This was our very first home. I loved it so much, and this photo was taken when we came back to visit one Christmas.

First photo, by G, from the Jackson, NH covered bridge. Ok, so that’s not Maine, but it’s within walking distance. Or so.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2010 7:23 pm

    >Haha this is great! I loved visiting you in this house. I've so romanticized Maine because of my memories of that trip. How we had to wear orange to walk in the woods behind your house, that little cafe we walked to for lunch, your pumpkin soup and the fire, the maple syrup and those TREES! I loved it and always think of you Gabes when Maine comes up. Cari

  2. April 11, 2010 4:32 am

    >Ah..fluffer nutters. I believe I ate more than my fair share as a child. I definitely miss New England – even the winters! Well, at least, maybe a week of winter. Actually just some snow. Snow is fun. If you don't have to drive in it. 😉

  3. April 11, 2010 11:38 pm

    >Sharp cheddar may no really be…but our Mexican food is way better in Cali! I can finally go to my old house and not cry. I did not know that about Mendocino…I need to get up there anyway…it is not that far from me.Holly

  4. April 13, 2010 11:50 am

    >You need to also add whoopie pies, red hot dogs, and moxie. And of course black flies and frost heaves! Great post! It makes me feel like I live a very sheltered life…I never thought of all these things as being much different from the rest of the country! I'd also add that living in Maine kind of gives you that feeling that you are always on vacation, especially in the summer!

  5. April 27, 2010 4:14 pm

    >You nailed most of them! Good job! Not bad for someone "from away." LOL Jen

  6. May 10, 2012 2:29 pm

    My mom used to feed us fluffer nutters (or flufa nuttas as she used to say). Now I’d call that abuse hahaha. I love the east coast as well.

  7. September 11, 2012 4:29 am

    Yay Girl! Love this!!! 🙂 Happy Tuesday mornin’ from MAINE! 🙂 ~ Blessings, Amy

Trackbacks

  1. On Marriage: Harrowing Adventures, Sob Stories, Happy Endings and Everything In Between | Adelle Gabrielson
  2. On Moving: Why Would We Want to Go THERE?! | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

