Skip to content

I Am Mom Enough

May 11, 2012

I let them skip brushing their teeth once a week.
Sometimes, we don’t have a vegetable with dinner.
I let them play outside by themselves.

And I am Mom Enough.

I read to them before bed at least five nights a week.
But sometimes, we skip bedtime books and stay up late watching cartoons

And I am Mom Enough.

I don’t always come running at the first scream.
Even if the knee is skinned, I remind him “You’re ok.”
I don’t insist they bathe every single night.

And I am Mom Enough.

I rocked them to sleep when they were sick.
Changed sheets in the middle of the night.
Laid awake worrying in the quiet dark.

And I am Mom Enough.

I didn’t co-sleep, or baby-wear, or attachment parent.
I fed them formula, wiped their pacis on my shirt and
I sleep trained them for their own beds.

And I am Mom Enough.

Sometimes, I yell when I’m tired.
I don’t always make the right choices.
I make mistakes, and I apologize when I do.

And I am Mom Enough.

I allow my children to experience failure
To know what it is to get up and keep going
To pursue greatness through trial

And I am Mom Enough.

I love them more than my own life.

I am Mom Enough.

We are, all of us, mom enough. Write your own statement of how you are enough and post it to Twitter today with the hashtag #MomEnough. The Mommy Wars are over – we are all Mom Enough.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2012 9:54 am

    Ha! I thought of you and the Mommy Wars when I saw that article. It’s so dumb, these camps, these factions, the idea that “I’m following this method, so I’m doing it better than you.” Time sure got what they wanted, I bet more people have read it now just to see what’s going on than would have if it was just another Time magazine.

    • May 11, 2012 10:25 am

      I agree – yet I think their intention was to be more inflammatory with the cover photo than with the title. Yet people care less about the photo and are furious with the title.

  2. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    May 11, 2012 11:10 am

    Great post, and we all need to be reminded of this. It helps to know that other moms don’t serve veggies at every dinner and some nights skip books or brushing teeth before bed. Whew!

  3. May 22, 2012 3:04 pm

    This is awesome–exactly what needs to be said and exactly what I feel but couldn’t form the words. Thank you! Every mom needs to read this!

Trackbacks

  1. What in the World Wednesday? « Witty Words

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

