Skip to content

The Happiest Day of My Life

June 11, 2012

Gentle reader, I beg your indulgence.

It’s been a big day for me. Second only to my wedding and the birth of my children. And maybe a few other really great days. But still, this one is a biggie:

Flip Flop Pergatory has officially ended.

I ran around in my little red flats and tried to solicit a soupcon of enthusiasm from one of the other three people in my house. But the testosterone kept getting in the way. Thus, I seek it here. Rejoice with me. The long winter of my convalescence has ended.


While I cannot yet wear all of my old friends, I can wear a few. A few is more than none. A wedge is more than a flat. It is progress. I am content.

What is this nonsense, you might ask? If you haven’t yet figured it out, shoes are, shall we say… important… to me. Very important. However, I am not some Imelda with racks upon racks of Jimmy Choos…I am yet a sensible gal who does most of my shopping at Marshalls and DSW. But my shoes are not just footwear, they are friends. Friends from which I have been separated for the last 10 weeks. Separated by a strange and bizarre accident which left me with…a bit less. I’ll spare you the details. I have been unable to wear anything but flip flops for 10 weeks. TEN WHOLE WEEKS. That is a long, long time for someone who feels awkward wearing the same shoes two days in a row. (It’s like wearing the same shirt! You just don’t do it!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Gini permalink
    June 11, 2012 9:43 am

    What a great way to celebrate your birthday! Hope you’re having a fabulous vaca all the way around!

  2. June 11, 2012 10:24 am

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

    …..but what, may I ask, is wrong with wearing flip flops every day? 😉

  3. melody halfenger permalink
    June 11, 2012 10:16 pm

    Dear Fellow Lover of Fantastic Footwear,
    I am so happy for you!! Although I am currently a big fan of my sanuk flip flops I couldn’t imagine what it would feel like to not have (many) options. I admire your courage and patience. I understand this momentous occasion and I celebrate it with you as only another shoe lover could.

  4. June 12, 2012 6:39 am

    When you live in San Antonio flip flops are not purgatory, they are heaven. Especially the ones from Bless Your Heart :). But I am happy for you, my dear!

  5. June 12, 2012 9:05 am

    Hooray!! Glad to hear you are on the way back to full shoe bliss 🙂

    I also agree with Christy though… I’d be down to wear flip flops everyday.

  6. June 12, 2012 9:06 am

    Well… most days, at least.

  7. Bob aka Dad permalink
    June 12, 2012 6:32 pm

    Huh! I just wish I could wear any two shoes.

  8. June 25, 2012 8:04 pm

    I rejoice with you! I have to admit–the BEST thing about living in Florida is wearing flip flops every day! My feet are so spoiled, I can’t ever wear tennis shoes, Toms, or heels again!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

