Skip to content

Gratitude Monday, Once Again

July 9, 2012

I’ll be honest with you, this no-TV-thing with the kids is TOUGH. It would be so much easier to let them watch. Two words: Bored Boys.

The older is doing great – he’s spending spare time building, creating and innovating. We’ve still got some negativity to work out, but progress is being made.

The younger, well, he’s not handling the new regime so well. We’ve seen an up-tick in tantrumming (I just made that word up, but it suits, I think). A stratospheric up-tick. He was even mean to his beloved babysitter, Kayla. We got home last night from just a couple of hours away on a date.

She heard the door and stumbled, dejectedly, into the kitchen.

I’m sorry, she said. I gave up. I admit it. He knows I’ve got nothing on him. 

What the little gremlin, who was hopping merrily in and out of bed well past his bedtime, forgot is that while the babysitter may have nothing on him, we sure do, and eventually, mom and dad do come home and the piper always gets paid, little buddy. Oh yes.

All that is to say is this. Gratitude is a habit, a discipline that must be cultivated. I’m finding that I’m just as guilty as they are, finding only the fault and flaw and not the silver lining.

So, back to my old tricks: Gratitude Monday. An exercise is gratefulness on my least favorite day of the week.

Despite waking up in the middle of the night with a migraine, the meds eventually worked and I was able to enjoy a cup of coffee out here (after sleeping in till almost 11am. Oh, the luxury!)

I’m grateful the stupid migraine didn’t ruin my Sunday.

I’m grateful for our beautiful and temperate weather.

For a date night Saturday night.

For a dinner that was as close and as easy as the garden behind our bedroom – cucumbers, basil, parsley, tomatoes and a whole grain medley and feta from my good ol’ buddy Trader Joe. Olive oil, lemon juice – is there anything better? I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I think basil is one of God’s greatest gifts to the world.

Happy Monday, friends. What are you grateful for on this summer day?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kari permalink
    July 9, 2012 7:03 am

    If you’re looking to do a link up with your gratitude post, go to heavenlyhomemakers.com on Tuesdays.

    I’m thankful for people who remind me to cultivate an attitude of gratitude. I’m thankful for family dance parties and walks/explores. I’m thankful for my sisters-in-law who are coming to visit this week.

  2. July 9, 2012 8:03 am

    I am grateful for the seemingly never ending loads of sheets and towels I have helped my mom do since our extended family of about 33 headed back home. Grateful, too, for the multiple beds I have helped make up, the trash I have emptied, and the couple of pounds I gained. All of these remind me of the big and hearty vacation week we just enjoyed with our family.

    Most of all, though, I am grateful for all the encouraging words like yours on the web that wrap me in a big hug and point me to God as a reminder that I am loved and that when things go south, everything will work out.

    • July 9, 2012 8:46 am

      Sounds like a wonderful time, and I love that you are seeing the “work” as an act of love and something to be thankful for. Great example, thanks for commenting!

  3. Rebecca Trotter permalink
    July 9, 2012 7:20 pm

    i’m grateful you came and commented on my bloggy linky goodness post. I didn’t want to put this on my blog, but I had to laugh when you said your post had been hanging out there with no action. Nearly every post I write is like that. I have the least inter-active readership ever. I have a few thousand subscribers via email and rss and if I get two comments and 6 likes, that’s a lot of feedback. I’ve decided that those heartfelt, sometimes difficult posts are food for thought rather than instant gratification for both me and the reader.
    I’m also grateful for other mom writers who are willing to share the struggle. Thanks again!
    Blessings,
    Rebecca

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

