Skip to content

Saying Yes: My Lesson in Poached Eggs

July 17, 2012

What’s for dinner?

Two hungry tummies, two demanding voices, tandem reminders that I am not on my game tonight.

Desperately, I scan for something other than my continual stand-by for short-prep dinners (chicken nuggets). It’s just too hot to turn on the oven tonight.

How about breakfast for dinner?

Easy-peasy scrambled eggs and toast. Ha! I’m a genius.

Yeah! Two boys yell in tandem.

But I want mine poached.

Uh. Poached? I don’t poach. I don’t even like eggs, quite frankly. They smell. I only eat eggs masquerading in cheese. I can scramble but I have no idea how to poach. Poached eggs gross me out.

I try diversionary tactics. Let’s have scrambled eggs! What would you like on your toast?

We want poached!

I admit my ignorance. Sorry, dudes, mom don’t poach. I throw up my hands, expecting concession – not factoring in which boys I’m talking to. Gabe’s boys.

We know how to make poached eggs! We watch daddy all the time!

I wanted to say no. It’ll be messy. And smelly. And then I’ll have more pans to wash. I really wanted to say no. But I said yes.

And poach they did – they walked me through step-by-step – which pan to use, how much water, when to put in the eggs. They helped crack the eggs into the pan; they knew when they were done and how to serve them (with butter and black pepper – I had no idea!) , they even sliced mushrooms (for my own scramble – still not eating those nasty things poached) and strawberries for their own side.

Did it take longer than it could have? Sure. Was it messy? Oh, yeah. But it was still a quick, filling dinner. They loved helping, and I was able to wipe the raw egg off the stove top before it hardened.

Everybody wins.

It’s so easy to fall into the habit of “No.”

The things they ask of me – their demands can be so overwhelming. “No” becomes a habit under which all three of us begin to drown. As part of my effort to be grateful for everything – even the bad days – I’m trying to say “Yes” more.

Linking up today with Say Yes Tuesday…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2012 8:21 am

    I love breakfast for dinner! Very impressive that your kids can poach – I make a big mess when I do that!

    • July 17, 2012 1:47 pm

      My husband is head chef, and he always does breakfast duty since I’m not coherent early in the morning. It’s definitely paying big dividends, and I always say – my sons’ future wives are going to thank us!

  2. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    July 17, 2012 10:06 am

    Great post! I hate messes, but I need reminders like this that saying yes inspires kids’ creativity and confidence, even if it means more clean-up later. Thanks for the encouragement!

    • July 17, 2012 1:46 pm

      B – I can’t wait for you to have teens and see the things YOU are writing down that you’ve learned along the way. You are SUCH a good mom!

  3. July 17, 2012 10:56 am

    I hear you about the extra dishes and mess. I let my oldest crack eggs for baking yesterday. I didn’t want to. he has made messes doing that before, I tell myself, and I’m in a hurry. But, I let him and he did great, and he was very happy to do that big job for me.

    • July 17, 2012 1:45 pm

      It’s always worth it in the end, it’s just getting over that emotional barrier of “Yes, this might be a mess!” I can be such a stick in the mud sometimes!;)

  4. July 17, 2012 11:57 am

    I love it (even though poached eggs gross me out, too!).

  5. Rose Savage permalink
    July 17, 2012 1:12 pm

    When I was growing up, my dad used to make breakfast on Sunday night. Bacon, eggs, and yes even pancakes. I remember those days fondly.

    • July 17, 2012 2:13 pm

      When my dad cooked, it was always pancakes, and I loved them! I still think his are the best, but don’t tell my husband that…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

