Skip to content

Bedtime Boy-Mom Bounce House

July 24, 2012

Bedtime in a boy-house is not what I ever thought it would be. I always thought bedtime would be a peaceful ritual, idyllic even, like in TV commercials. Footie pajamas and bedtime stories. Dim lights, soft music, and boys sitting quietly on my lap or the bed.

We start out well, sitting three-up on the master bedroom bed, me in the middle. I tell them it’s so they can both see the pictures, but really it’s to keep them at arm’s length from each other.

Inevitably, like small shirtless octopi, one lands a kick or a punch. If I offer even the slightest opening, always inadvertent, they dive towards each other.

Like puppies they roll into a ball of arms and legs and yelling and laughter.

My stick-in-the-mud-self wants order and quiet. I can be so boring, sometimes.

Tonight I let go and we tussle. Tickling and giggling, me joining in. We roll on the bed.We end with a contest – who roars the loudest, the fiercest, the most? It ends in a sword fight as these things often do, but so what?

I roar and I win, they jump in shock as I join in and laugh in delight, my wild things rolling, and kicking and pummeling down the hall and off to bed.

My stick-in-the-mud-self is silenced and I remember how much fun our boyish-puppy chaos can be.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 8:18 am

    I can’t believe how accurate this is. 🙂 Mine have even recently taken to shouting “BOUNCE HOUSE!” It’s crazy – but there’s nothing better than being a BoyMom 🙂 (Even when you’re trying to convince them that a flying leap off the Sit-N-Spin is a bad idea and no, please don’t kill your brother.)

    • July 24, 2012 8:27 am

      T – I seriously can’t wait to read the book(s) you will write after raising those two. It’s going to be a hilariously harrowing tale!

      • July 24, 2012 11:57 am

        What about your own harrowing tales, Missy? I want to read those!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

