Skip to content

When All Else Fails…Go With Doris Day

August 14, 2012

Used up. Washed out. Wrung dry.

That’s pretty much where I’m at tonight. Depleted. After a marathon of activities and two boys who are hell-bent on destruction, I plopped down on the couch tonight with nothing left.

Except an empty room and the TV all to myself.

G was working. The TV is mine. ALL MINE!

Wahahahaha! (Boymoms, you understand – this NEVER happens.)

But, what shall I watch?

Nothing on TiVO but cartoons and Sci Fi. That’s what I get for living with three boys. MY shows all get pre-empted by Ben-10 and How It’s Made and Star Trek. Where is Say Yes to the Dress when I need it???

I stood at the bookcase of DVD’s, staring at titles with no appeal. Stigmata? Uh, no. The Godfather, parts I through III? Not. G Force Navarone (or something like that, I can’t remember). Bleah. BOOOOR-ing.

But then I saw her – Doris! Doris Day! On the bottom shelf. In all her platinum goodness, and up against Cary Grant no less.

What better to nourish my tired soul but squeaky-sweet Doris Day?

As I write this, Doris just told some guy who asked her out that she would enjoy going out with him if she personally didn’t find him so distasteful. He’s a sneaky, crude and offensive man.

I love this woman!

And she’s wearing the most darling little car coat with 3/4 length sleeves and matching elbow gloves. Deee-vine.

I feel better already.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 11:30 am

    >one of these days… i'm going to watch some of those old movies! hope it was just what you needed 🙂

  2. September 17, 2010 6:50 pm

    >Your Doris = my Marilyn. Even in a household where the gender lines are evenly split, I still rarely get to watch one of "my" movies. Not chick flicks, those he's dowm for, but the oldies, the talkies, the musicals that sing to my soul, those are there just for the ME moments.

  3. September 17, 2010 10:29 pm

    >Magical!

  4. September 18, 2010 7:17 am

    >I love her hair and style!

  5. Lisa permalink
    August 15, 2012 5:25 am

    Doris is always one of my favorites!!! Never an unkind word and so pretty and perky!!! Loved all her movies!!! And don’t even get me started on Cary Grant!!! He is my all time fave!!! My go to movie when I need to hang out is Charade. Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn!

  6. August 15, 2012 8:14 am

    Oh – I know the feeling! Earlier this year I bought a 4 pack of Romantic Comedies at Walmart for myeslf. It me months to have the chance to watch them all. Between the kiddie movies and the sci-fi/action stuff a girl can’t get a movie in edge-wise!

    • August 15, 2012 1:23 pm

      I know, right?! My shows expire and get deleted off of TiVo because there are too many episodes of Avatar The Last Airbender being recorded!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

