Skip to content

Dangerous Territory – Praying For Our Husbands

September 6, 2012

I’ve been married 14 years and four months. 

Jokingly (but not really) I’ve said that the odd years are the tough ones. The first – wow. I didn’t think we were going to make it.

Seven was hard. 13 was harder.

Don’t get me wrong – I wouldn’t marry another man for all the money in the world. I love my husband. I ADORE my husband. He is, without at doubt, God’s perfect choice for me as partner and helpmate. He is strong where I am weak. He completes me.

He also has the ability to make me Stark. Raving. Crazy.

He found buttons to push I didn’t know I had. That whole “you complete me” thing? Translation: you are my POLAR OPPOSITE.

Gabe=Alien (at times)

A loveable alien, but one who, at times, doesn’t speak my language.

One thing I’ve learned over the last 14 years? It’s hard to hold on to anger – and it’s own helpmate, bitterness,when you’re praying. You cannot be selfish in prayer. Or rather, you can, it just doesn’t get you anywhere.

For the rest of the week, I’m going to share with you some snippets of a very powerful book.

A dangerous book.

This isn’t going to be easy.

The results could be life-altering.

Are you ready?

There are some deep hurts in marriage. But I do know this; as long as we are holding on to those things like a balled up tissue, we can never be truly free to hold out our hands in prayer on behalf of our husbands. This is brave stuff we’re talking about here – giving up the right to be angry and getting on our knees instead of getting even.

-Kathi Lipp

Praying God’s Word For Our Husbands

I love Kathi Lipp. I love her 21 days to a better dinner, a cleaner life and house, and reaching my unattainable goals. But this book – I think this is her most profound…and powerful…book yet.

Trust me, you need this book. Come back tomorrow for more excerpts from Praying God’s Word For Your Husband

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    September 6, 2012 10:11 am

    Can I tell you that it does get easier and harder? BUT your gift of working on your marriage will be a happy empty nesting time!!! I am married to a polar opposite too, also an engineer, and it is hard! I know God picked him for me so I go with the flow and bit my tongue!

  2. September 6, 2012 4:38 pm

    We just celebrated 13 years, and the last year was definitely the hardest! I agree with your odd year theory!

  3. September 6, 2012 9:20 pm

    Wow, do I get this one. We’re coming up on 47 and some bits are easier…and some never.seem.to.change. Be interested in your take on this book. Thanks, as always, for sharing the real.

  4. Kassandra Thwaites permalink
    September 7, 2012 10:19 am

    Perfect timing!! I just received my copy in the mail yesterday. I shall follow your posts along. Thanks for introducing the book. Look forward to putting what I learn into practice – it;s going to be POWERFUL!

  5. Kelly permalink
    September 9, 2012 8:49 pm

    I am not currently married, but I can still pray for my future husband and that is what I plan to do!

  6. fullherlife permalink
    September 10, 2012 5:19 pm

    Hi Adelle!
    This is a lovely blog you have going here! I’m adding this book to my wish list! I have been married for 10 years and the odd years have been “interesting” for us as well. We’ve been through painful times, dishonest times, joy filled times… But for GRACE… we’re still here. Still learning how to love. Praise God sister! ~ Blessings from Maine, Amy 🙂

  7. Laura permalink
    January 7, 2013 9:09 am

    I’m so intrigued! I’m about to celebrate 3yrs. in march. Feed me please!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

