Skip to content

Truth and Lies

October 21, 2012

It’s all over Facebook and even worse on Pinterest.

In every Instagram, every Pixl’red photo…soft focused, fine-tuned, air-brushed…

UNNATTAINABILITY.

No one posts the flaws and failures (ok, some do, and I love Pinterest Fail!). We sit and look at all the pretty pictures and we think to ourselves…

I am not enough.

The fairy-tale photos present a reality that no one can live up to.

I’m sorry, Ree. I love ya, but you’re making me feel terrible about myself. Because who can cook, photograph, home school and craft like you can?

No one. That’s why you have a staff to do it for you while you film your TV shows and ride around the farm in the Marlboro Man’s truck shooting sunsets and wild fires.

News flash, friends: Ree Drummond wakes up with bed head, too. And bad breath.

But she never takes pictures of that.

Who does?

We stare at these images all day and feel terrible about our mundane lives and the reality of it all. Because we can’t all cook everything from scratch, organic, and sew, and home school, and craft, and blog, and photograph, and be happy, cheerful delightful wives and mothers.

It’s not real. Baxter Kruger calls this the like of “I Am Not.”

Here’s what’s real:

Faith in this lie has been humanity’s basic struggle since the original fall. I am not loved. I am not valuable. I am not good enough. I am not accepted. I am not _____ – you fill in the blank. I believe that we can trace all sin back to this lie. Envy, strife, lying, manipulating, presumption, gossip, slander, adultery, murder, theft. If you think about it, I think that the ultimate motivation behind all types of sin is an attempt to manage the pain of believing “I am not.”

The occupation of God since the fall then, has been to restore us to the truth. It’s interesting to me, that when God calls Moses to cooperate with Him to lead a bunch of slaves into freedom, Moses asks, “Who shall I tell them that this God is?” The answer: “I AM.” We are valued because the great “I AM” values us.

We are loved, because “I AM” loves us. “I AM” stands in direct opposition to “I am not.”

I was with a sweet group of mamas last week and we talked about the lie – the lens through which we see ourselves, the lens that was created by the Evil One to distort and destroy.

The lie of “I am not…”
I am not loved.
I am not enough.
I am not worthy.
I am not valuable.
I am not important.
I am not accepted.

And then there’s the truth – the truth that with God:

You let the world, which doesn’t know the first thing about living, tell you how to live. Ephesians 2:1b The Message

And that’s the only truth that really matters, isn’t it?

I love this photo. This boy-mama of three had written down her lie on one side of the card and then posed for a photo with the “truth.” The little man on her lap, however, had other ideas about “the truth.”

Isn’t that the truth, right there? Whatever lies we are telling ourselves or what are being told to us by others – in our children, we’ll see the truth if we look for it.

Just like this mom did:

Linking up today with:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2012 9:49 pm

    Jesus was real. Esther was real. Mary was real – I so want to be real and not get down about it! What a wonderful activity – I love that – defining with words who we REALly are!

  2. October 22, 2012 3:04 am

    I was talking with my blogging partners this week about the challenges of telling the truth on a blog. It seems like the best posts are the hardest to write but they’re the ones where we are transparent and tell the TRUTH. We fail but God loves us anyway! Thanks for the great post.

  3. November 10, 2012 10:42 am

    Love this!

Trackbacks

  1. 31 Days to Shine: To Shine, Not Shame | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

