Skip to content

Failure is Good.

January 19, 2013

I think one of the biggest challenges we face as parents is watching our children fail. We go to great lengths to protect them. We pad their chubby knees as they crawl, we child-proof our homes. We hold their hands, we push ourselves in front of eminent danger.

I’m pretty sure I’d throw myself in front of a bus for one of my kids.

The protective parental instinct doesn’t back off as they gain their independence. We watch  over them like fierce birds of prey, ready to swoop in if they are knocked down on the playground, if the slightest scratch should mar their precious pink cheeks.

We’d keep them in bubble wrap if it would help.

But sometimes, often, this protective instinct goes to far. We fear so much that they will experience even the slightest harm. We want to keep them from the same things we suffered. The same injustices. The same embarrassments.

The same failures that made us who we are today. Wiser. Stronger, perhaps?

Not all failure is a bad thing. Back in the day when I was schmoozing angel investors and start-ups, we had this saying. Debt is good. For a start-up, debt is a necessary part of the process. Debt can be good.

So can failure.

keep-moving-forward1

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2013 8:06 pm

    This makes alof of sense.

  2. January 21, 2013 4:58 am

    I am so guilty of being the “overprotective mom”! And when things come that are hard for my children. I want to fix it for them. BUT, when I stand back, and watch them handle the hard stuff…. I am overwhelmed at how they pull through it! I am encouraged that they have learned that the Lord will take care of them and help them.

    • January 21, 2013 10:06 am

      My parents used to say “This hurts me more than it hurts you.” They were so right! Letting our kids experience life lessons is by far the harder path for a parent, but NOT letting them learn as a child makes a far, far more painful lesson for them when they are adults! Keep moving forward!

Trackbacks

  1. Gratitude Monday | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

