Skip to content

Flawed and Fearless Friday

February 1, 2013

200788_10151373607409710_1043945538_n

Let’s play a game.

I’ll tell you some really dumb stuff I pulled off this week, we’ll all laugh about it, and then you get to tell me what YOU did that makes you gloriously human and flawed. Ready? Go. 

I let my five-year old eat Froot Loops.
I let my five-year old eat Froot Loops off the floor. On purpose.

In my defense: It was Thursday. There are ALWAYS meltdowns on Thursdays. I think Thursday is the day when my Kindergartener’s internal barometer of self-control hits an all time low and by the time I pick him up from school, that well is empty. Nothing left. Bone dry. So, it’s Thursday night and he has had his 100th day party at school – the result of which was a Froot Loop necklace. Which he carefully laid on top of his backpack (i.e. threw) and when I got there, it was laying on the floor underneath.

Yet he still had every intention of eating said necklace. I spent about 10 minutes trying to talk him out of it (really, I did), trying to distract him with other tasty treats (raisins? fruit leather? crackers?), trying to appeal to his sense of reason and rationale (did I mention it was Thursday?) all to no avail. The tears started and, to be totally honest, I just didn’t have it in me to battle this one. I caved.

I let him heat that Froot Loop necklace that had been laying on the floor, and said a silent prayer hoping that no one had thrown up in the hallway recently. Our Facilities Manager is one of the most fastidious humans alive, so we have that going for us at least.

Two gold stars for me, Mother of the Year. (This wasn’t QUITE as bad as when he was two and I was chatting away to a friend only to find him squatting down on the black top eating someone else’s soggy pretzels…)

Ok, your turn. What’s your favorite fail this week? Shout it out and celebrate.

Friendship happens at the moment when one person says to another.

“You too?! I thought I was the only one!”

– C.S. Lewis

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzanna permalink
    February 1, 2013 11:14 am

    I am the mom to three rough and rowdy boys, this week they were sick not all at the same time and not all had the same symptoms. Each child was sick more than once. When their captain (me) fell ill the house was shut down for quarantine. I did not care the level or symptoms of sickness. I was sick so they were sick. No school, no loud level of noise, and no fighting. Cleaning, and wiping everything with Lysol a priority. By the third day they were ready to crack. I did not care I was sick so my boys must be sick too. I can always tell when my boys are sick by the level snd degree of fighting going on. No fighting very sick, little fighting medium sick, cage fighting with slaps and giggles healthy.

  2. June 6, 2013 3:10 pm

    Being the mom of a kindergartener… oops FIRST GRADER, Mom! I am not going to fight on a Thursday. Eat it..get sick… Don’t come crying to me when your tummy gets upset! You did exactly what I would have done… if that helps at all 😉

    • June 6, 2013 3:30 pm

      It’s so nice to know that I’m not crazy (at least not uniquely crazy) and other moms would do the same thing! Thanks for the solidarity!

  3. Lauren permalink
    November 7, 2013 7:04 am

    My almost-5-yo bites her own toenails. The concept of germ transferrence is just NOT sinking in, despite our best efforts (finger painting examples, invoking dog poop etc). Fruit Lopps? Meh, save the fight. I´m with ya.

    • November 7, 2013 7:33 am

      Hurrah – totally agree! She’ll discover germs in school one day and then be totally grossed out by it. (P.s. I’ve caught both my kids doing the same!)

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Blogs of the Week – February 2

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

