Skip to content

Bearing Witness and Bringing Out the God-Colors in the World

February 4, 2013

2013-02-03_15-36-15_525 (1)
Standing up behind a microphone is a funny business. Through story, we tell of our lives and make you all laugh. But it also requires that we share the hard bits, and the sore places, and even, the spots that, after all these years, still bleed. We tear off the bandages and let the wounds out into the open. We are better for the sharing, closer for what we have made known, but the doing so is hard.

There was so much joy in sharing life with the women I was with on Saturday. They were honest, and welcoming, and kind. Driving home at the end of the day, as I almost always do, I cried. Full up with joy, with loss, with hope, with Jesus, and the cup runneth over and dripped all over my jeans.

Later, I put the band-aids back on all the raw spots, and bandaged up the bleeding ones, and go on, until the next time. Is it worth it? I hope so.

One of the activities of this retreat involves making candle holders – a metaphor for what happens when we let our broken bits reassemble themselves and create a living example of what it’s like to have light on the inside. These broken bits of shell are beautiful in the daylight, but even more so when the light is coming from the inside…

2013-02-03_17-57-04_156

You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:15-16 MSG

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2013 7:59 am

    Great object lesson. I love those that you can keep as reminders of God’s love

  2. February 4, 2013 10:10 am

    Adele—I have written on the same thing today–but from a writing perspective. “What Do We Write About? Tendering Your Witness” http://wordservewatercooler.com/2013/02/04/what-do-i-write-about-tendering-your-witness/comment-page-1/#comment-12467
    Your final image is just gorgeous, and such a good reminder of what we’re here for!! Thank you!

  3. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    February 4, 2013 11:16 am

    I’m so glad the retreat went well, and I’m glad you are brave enough to go through the exhaustion of being real and sharing your heartache with others. The candle holder is beautiful, and what a great object lesson!

  4. February 4, 2013 12:01 pm

    I love the way you are living out “the Message”! Going to work on a way to get you to Oakhills Church in San Antonio! I know where you can get free room and board! This topic would be very helpful and I would be very proud to introduce you. Let’s be praying about this!!!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

