Skip to content

When We Get Real…Friendship Happens

February 7, 2013

Friendship

A while back, I wrote a post for The MOB Society called “Confessions of a Biters Mom.” I actually wrote it about five years ago, in the thick of the humiliation and anguish. I held on to the essay, and resurrected it for the boy-moms over there, yet still hesitating even as I hit “publish” that somehow it wouldn’t be well received.

Wondering if I’d still be judged. I’d still, somehow, be at fault.

“Twas not so, of course. The post has been live since last June and still getting comments almost daily.

Other moms responding with their own stories, finding solidarity in our struggles. Me too! Me too! Here are some of the “me too” responses that encouraged me from this post.

OH THANK YOU! I am also the Mom of a biter and we too have tried everything known to man in order to curb this reaction from him. Everyday when I pick him up, I cringe as I pickup the signout book, just waiting to see that slip of paper telling me that he bit someone. – Emily

Oh how I cried at that whole experience. Now that it’s all behind us, I still feel that embarrassment. – Kirsten

I NEEDED to hear this today. – 3 under 3

THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! I’ve read this twice this week! – Kelley

Thank you for this. My now 5 yr old was a biter, and it was to date some of the darkest days in my life. It cost us friendships, and days of tears and frustration. – Tiffany

I faced the same things though people not looking me in the eye at preschool because i must be an awful mother if my child bites… They have a will of their own and all we can do is try to teach them right from wrong. – Rene

Have you found that sharing your story allowed an unexpected friendship or connection to happen?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. graceglimmers permalink
    February 8, 2013 2:07 am

    A friend of mine posted this on her FB page yesterday, and it was a great little video because it showed just how unexpected “friendships” can form. We all have a common ground of some kind, and sometimes we get to share our love of Jesus with others. This made me smile & cry: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HfHV4-N2LxQ

    Thank you for your post. Friendships are so tricky. We recently moved, and I feel like I’m reaching at keeping old friendships going and striving to make new ones work. With grace and prayer, I am making new special friends. We worry too much. God has friends in our plan too!

    • February 8, 2013 7:42 am

      ooh – moving is the worst! Grace and peace to you – and courage! – as you reach out. You’re right – God does have friends in His plans for us, and there’s another woman who needs you out there just as much as you need her!

    • February 8, 2013 7:43 am

      That video is AWESOME!! If you’re on FB, tell me your handle so I can give you credit!

  2. February 8, 2013 1:21 pm

    I’ve been dealing with this A LOT LATELY!! Friendships forming when I didn’t think friendships would come. Bonding over hardships. I found that some of my friends aren’t as honest about their hardships so we are losing the closeness we used to have! I just shared your Confessions of a Biter post with 2 of my friends who are blessed, like me, with a biter. I still read that post after my energetic little one bites!! Thanks again!!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

