Skip to content

Lost in Translation: What Boys Hear

March 16, 2013

040712102644-hagridcornered

Five minutes before we are to leave for work and school, I sent my two boys back to the bathroom to brush their teeth. I finished putting the breakfast dishes away and slugged the last of my coffee. The boys did not appear. I hollered “time to go!” The boys did not appear. Ten minutes have now gone by.

I started stomping down the hallway, but to no effect. They could not hear me, because they were busy pummeling each other with lunchboxes in the bathroom, teeth still unbrushed.

They seemed shocked by my reaction. I’m pretty sure their brains fall out every time I leave the room. This is only one example of oh-so-many instructions that seem to get lost in translation.

“Go put your pajamas on!” and they hear “Dress up like pirates and build a fort!”

“Please get dressed for school.” And they hear: “Please build a LEGO star ship while  sitting stark naked on the bedroom floor.”

“Take a bath.” = “Create as many bubble impressions of famous people with funny hair and beards but do not actually wash yourself at all. Certainly, do not wash your hair.”

“Please clean up your bedroom.” = “Have a sword fight.”

“Eat your dinner.” = “Start a thumb war with your brother.”

“Please rake those leaves into a pile.” = “Please build a secret hideout in the back yard, but by all means do not rake those leaves.”

“Get ready for bed.” = “Use your bathrobes and slippers to dress up in a remarkably good imitation of Sonic the Hedgehog and run speeding around the house.” (See image above.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2013 3:19 pm

    Oh gad, YES. And I only had one boy. Sigh. But the two girls did this stuff, too, so I’m not convinced it’s gender-specific. :>)

  2. March 17, 2013 2:11 am

    Good heavens! Do you mean to tell me Teddy’s poor listening skills are only going o get worse??? Sigh… At least they’re creative and enjoying life, right? 🙂

  3. graceglimmers permalink
    March 17, 2013 3:51 am

    YEAH! Smiling and laughing. Your translations are what my boys do! Glad I’m not the only mom with wild and crazy boys. Sweet to think about the “to dos” from the playful mindset of our sons. Thank you!

  4. Heather permalink
    March 18, 2013 7:40 pm

    I say “I love this!”. I hope you hear “I LOVE this and have seen it exhibited daily, nightly, ‘all-the-timely’ in my house too. I miss you my dear dear friend!”

  5. Maria permalink
    March 24, 2013 5:50 pm

    Love it!!! I also have 2 boys (5 & 7) and it never ceases to amaze me how their ears hear the complete opposite of what has come out of my mouth! Never a dull moment!! 🙂

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

