Skip to content

Memoirs of a Boy-Mom: Pajamas

April 7, 2013

boymom pajamas

I love toddlers in footie pajamas.

Big milky belly and rumpled diaper bottom, skinny arms and legs sticking out on all sides. I especially love striped pajamas; like little misshapen elves.

Last night I committed parental sin #22: I went in late at night to kiss my baby and pull up his blanket, as I always do, but when his head popped up, I took him out of his crib.  Just to cuddle. and then, I went and sang to him (#23) and then, because he was so cute and sweet and was playing peek-a-boo with his blankie, I took him out of the room (#24) and back in to the den with me so daddy could enjoy him too.

I know that every parenting expert is gasping in horror – this is terrible for their sleep patterns, but who can resist the curls,and milky breath and the grin? I am besotted.

I blame my lapse in judgement on the striped pajamas.

download

I wrote this post five years ago. Looking back at the photos, I am undone. How easily forgotten are those petal-soft cheeks; baby gurgle of laughter. We had a toddler in the house tonight and just before leaving, she traded her pink t-shirt for striped pajamas. Just like I remembered, skinny arms and legs and big milky belly, tousled bed-head of curls and gurgle of laughter.

The years have hardened my boys. The cheeks aren’t nearly so soft. The feet are long, and calloused. The breath..well, it ain’t what it used to be.

But as I pad down the hallway to my room in the quiet dark, stopping to tuck long legs under the covers, or pull Scrappy back into a normal sleeping position, I find that there is this spot on the back of the neck that even now, years later, lingers with the scent and sensation of infancy. Perhaps it always will…

sig

The conversation continues!  For more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life, join me over on InstagramPinterest, or Facebook

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kari permalink
    April 8, 2013 7:11 am

    Add bottom up in the air and it’s even sweeter.

  2. April 8, 2013 7:38 am

    I still occasionally find my oldest still sleeping in that position!

  3. Bethany Hall Fitelson permalink
    April 8, 2013 9:17 am

    I love this. Thanks for the reminder to enjoy these moments before she gets too big for footie pajamas and bedtime snuggles. And I’m glad you got to see her clomp around in striped PJs and mommy’s boots since I didn’t get a photo and can’t share it with anyone else! Too funny.

  4. April 8, 2013 9:19 am

    Love to read your work, my dear!

  5. April 8, 2013 10:49 am

    I am literally right smack dab in the middle of what could be my last stripped jammies, giving way to tractors, snowboarding and super hero jammies and I am relishing every moment! My sweet 19 month old boy is the cutest little nub in the world (sorry all, he is!) and I have the fortunate role of being the “rocker-back-to-sleeper” which I get to do at least once if not 3 or 4 times a night. Tired all the time but blessed beyond dreams to share life with this little curie-pie. Thx for the reminder and for sharing your memory!

    • April 10, 2013 8:29 am

      Savor those moments – they are gone before you know it! Glad that you are the rocker to sleeper – I LOVED watching my husband cuddle our babies. Sweet memories!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

