Skip to content

Review: Lisa Chan’s DVD “Deny Yourself”

April 17, 2013

deny-yourself-dvd

The title alone makes me squirm, and I’m not a very self-indulgent person. I’m extremely regimental (my husband has another word for it) about my time, what I eat, my schedule…I’m not given to whims, or spur-of-the-moment decisions. I don’t often fly by the seat of my pants. I am, in short…

A control freak.

I check the weather every day because I can’t bear to be unprepared.

My purse always contains three kinds of hand sanitizer (both liquid and wipeys, ’cause you never know), a spare kid-snack, backup makeup, a pen, a highlighter, business cards, gum, Kleenex, blotting tissues, band-aids…two pairs of sunglasses (it could be an aviator kind of day, or it could be a Jackie O. kind of day) oh, and a wallet.

I don’t like surprises.

But, to deny myself? Deny myself…of control? Of knowing what comes next? Of letting someone else drive? Mmmm…not so much. Squirmy.

When I was invited to review Lisa Chan’s newest video in the True Beauty film series, I was startled by my reaction the title.

But watching it…once again, I was moved. Chan challenges women to let go of control, and let God guide. Beautifully filmed and articulated, Chan uses personal experience and example coupled with testimony from other women to show, not tell, viewers what it means to live in true beauty, deny oneself, and take up the cross.

Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it.

Luke 9:23-24, NIV

Read my review on the first film in the series “Be Still.”

Deny Yourself  In Deny Yourself, Lisa Chan examines Jesus’ words “If anyone wants to come after me, he must deny himself, take up his cross daily and follow me.” What does that look like in our “all about me” world? Click here to preview.

Picture1

About True Beauty Films
The True Beauty films invite you into an authentic conversation about God’s Word. Together with Lisa, you will explore the spiritual practices and truths of living life in Christ. Each film in the series weaves Lisa’s teaching with another woman’s story of discovery. Rich in Scripture and practical application, these unique films point you to the freeing discovery that true beauty lies in the heart.

truebeautytop

About Lisa Chan
Lisa Chan is a mother of five and co-founder (with her husband, Francis) of Cornerstone Community Church in Simi Valley, California. An accomplished singer, Lisa has recorded three albums, including Endless Beauty. Lisa lives with her family in San Francisco where they are active in inner-city ministry.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

