Skip to content

Book Review: Christian Mama’s Guide to Baby’s First Year {Guest Post}

April 26, 2013

I’m so excited to feature my very first guest-post today! Claire is a new friend and fellow blogger who recently relocated to my area from the East Coast with a toddler in tow…and then had a baby. I cannot even imagine uprooting and moving cross-country…and then having a baby. She and her husband Chris are authentic and delightful, and they have tackled the transition from parenting of one to parenting of two with grace and aplomb She’s amazing.

IMG_8568

She’s also an amazing and insightful blogger as you’ll see if you visit her over at Beaktweets. I have so much respect for this gal – her relocation acuity aside…she loves to bake, write, and she can pull of colored skinny jeans like no one else. This girl has movie, and plenty of it. I think she brought that with her from Boston…

0849964733.jpg

When I had the opportunity to review Erin MacPherson’s Christian Mama’s Guide series, I thought they were awesome. But my last baby was six years ago. Claire seemed a much better fit to read and review since she is right in the trenches of her second baby’s first year. Here’s her take on book two – Christian Mama’s Guide to Baby’s First Year.

I have to admit, when Adelle gave me this book to read, I was skeptical. Another baby book? What more could this author add to the shelves and shelves of parenting books that already exist? Add to that the fact that I think a first time mom needs to listen to her intuition a lot more than she is encouraged to these days, Erin MacPherson had a tough job ahead of her.

Are you a hugely pregnant mama exhausted from carrying around that watermelon of a belly and getting up approximately one million times each night to pee? Or, are you a brand new mama tired as you adjust to very short intervals of sleep accented by a screaming newborn? Are you overwhelmed as you try to figure out “what kind of mom” you will be? Then let me introduce you to this book.

The best part of this book is how easy it is to read. Erin leaves you feeling like you just had coffee with a mama friend who is a few years ahead of you on this parenting journey. She doesn’t shame as many parenting books do and she keeps it simple. She breaks down essentials for post-birthing recovery, baby gear, feeding, and more. She also gives a quick summary of some of the popular sleep theories which I found very helpful. I remember with my first baby being desperate to get some sleep but too tired to actually read some of the rather academically written sleep books. Erin gives a few quick tips that are perfect for a mama who just needs to sleep for longer than an hour and a half at a time.

Every Christian mama wants to help foster a love for God early in her children’s lives, but how does one do that for a newborn? Early in the book Erin has some great advice for praying over your baby, singing over your baby and setting an example yourself. Of course, none of these are terribly earth-shattering, but when you are tired or hormonal things like setting a spiritual example can feel a lot more overwhelming.

Overall, I thought this was a good read. A chick-lit style parenting book which makes it an approachable and quick resource.

393139_695509247480_115126255_n

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2013 3:06 pm

    I’m a Boston friend of Claire’s – I love your description of her!! I’m closer to the grandmother stage than the parent stage….but I have a daughter who might enjoy this book sometime soon!

    • April 26, 2013 3:11 pm

      So glad that you stopped by! Sorry that Claire is so far away from you, but we’re happy to have them on the left coast!

  2. April 28, 2013 11:15 am

    Thank you Adelle– and thank you Claire!

  3. May 7, 2013 4:11 pm

    Hopping over from Claire’s blog. I’m not having another baby (unless God has other plans), but I do have a newlywed sis-in-law and sorta newlywed sis, who may find this book useful in the near future. 😉 I’m not in Claire’s area, but across the Bay. It’s great finding Bay Area bloggers. I was feeling pretty lonely as all my blogger friends are in TX, or the east coast. :p

    • May 7, 2013 4:14 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and welcome! I’m in the Silicon Valley, too.

      • May 7, 2013 4:32 pm

        I just took a look around your blog. I saw your Speaker Chick button! Kathi Lipp is speaking at our MOPS group next week. I’m a little up north in Castro Valley.

      • May 7, 2013 7:28 pm

        Awesome! Kathi Lipp is fantastic. All the Speaker Chicks gals are! I’m so honored to be a part of that group! You’re going to have a lot of fun with her! I’m speaking in Pleasanton at a MOPS group this fall…

Trackbacks

  1. Reviews of The Christian Mama’s Guide Series | Christian Mamas Guide

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

