Skip to content

For The Teachers: Thank You

May 21, 2013

“It wasn’t heroism, it was survival,” Lowe said. “I just wanted to keep them all safe. It was my responsibility when they’re in my classroom and that’s where we were.”

“Your child is my child. All day long and all year long, from August to May,” Bittle said. “And I will do anything to take care of them.”

Terrified Children Asked Oklahoma Teacher, ‘Is This Really Happening?’ ABCNews.com

This is not the first time a teacher has made the news for sheltering – physically and emotionally – her students in a crisis.

We heard about it at Sandy Hook. We’ve heard about it during earthquakes and wars and terrorism, and when the Challenger blew up. We’ve seen teachers risk their lives, sacrifice their comfort, and endure extraordinary circumstances just to protect the children in their care.

I read the quotes above in an article covering the tornadoes in Oklahoma and it stopped me…what she said isn’t anything new or profound. What Sheri Bittle and Cindy Lowe said so eloquently is visible in the actions I see every day at my sons’ school, and all over the world.

I just want to take a moment to say thank you to those who spend every day loving my kids.

Who would put their life on the line for my kids.

Who have chosen teaching instead of so many other things they could have chosen. 

To all of you
public and private,
preschool,
elementary,
middle and high
Thank you.
Thank you for doing the hard,
underpaid,
under-recognized work of teaching.
Thank you for doing more, with less.
Thank you for choosing education
instead of retail, or marketing, or finance.
Thank you for choosing long hours,
cranky parents, and whiny kids.
You could have chosen to do something different with your life.
But you chose to be a teacher. You chose to plant seeds, cultivate minds, and grow leaders.

You chose to change the world.

So, thank you. For loving my kids like they were your kids, and all the other kids you have shepherded through childhood…

Thank you.

a teachers influence

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2013 12:27 am

    I teach college, but I recognize the sentiment. As a teacher, I can say that most of us didn’t choose teaching; it chose us. Teaching is a calling.
    One of my favorite proverbs is the story of the man picking up starfish one by one off a beach covered with thousands of them. Another person looking on asks why he bothers since he cannot possibly make a difference [in their numbers]. To this the man responds as he picks up and throws back another starfish, I just made a difference to that one.
    We choose to make a difference in our world, and we succeed by teaching our students. It is satisfying in our minds for the challenges, in our hearts for the caring, and our souls for the positive good we are doing. Paycheck? Oh, that is nice to have, but money is not nearly as important as the difference we are allowed to make!
    😄

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

