Skip to content

A Week In Pictures: Adventure Camp

August 5, 2013

Every year, three of us troop up to the Santa Cruz mountains for Adventure Camp.

My oldest is a camper, I’m a teacher, and my youngest tags along as a “pre-camper,” which mostly means he’s there to get dirty, into mischief, and distract everybody else. His buddy Aubrey comes along for the same purpose.

Adventure Camp is just like every other summer camp – swimming, fishing, dirt, archery, zip lines, dirt, cabins, campfire, dirt, lanyards, sleeping bags, silly songs, and dirt. I share this adventure with my BFF Susan, who is the t-shirt lady every year. She actually knows how to tie-die. (All the other campers apparently do as well. I do not. My attempts are pathetic, while the children create gorgeous swirls and spirals and my shirts mostly look like mud threw up.) I could not survive the week without Susan – she has a great deal more experience with dirt, small children combined with dirt, and camping, than I do. This year, we were all ready to set up adjoining tents when a last-minute offer of a loaned RV was swiftly and enthusiastically accepted. Susan, despite her vast camping experience, is a gal who appreciates a bed that is not laying on top of dirt, as well as hot coffee first thing in the morning.

And me?  The last time I slept in a tent was…let me think….never. And I’m not ashamed to admit it.

It was a week full of the expected…bees, dirt, sun, and bonding with the other staff. And a few unexpecteds….Mikey managed to lock us out of the RV one evening, and then there was the day we lost him for 15 minutes. That part was fun. (Not really.) It is sort of interesting to think back on those 15 minutes that felt like 15 lifetimes while we hunted for him and I imagined every possible fatality, injury and disaster. He was fine after a few hugs and kisses and a nap. It took me a bit longer…

Anyway – they aren’t great photos but it’ll give you a taste of our adventures.

Camp begins - this is the cleanest he was all week.

Camp begins – this is the cleanest he was all week.

My bunk-mate, who woke up every morning at 5:30am. Do we look tired, dirty and sunburned? We are...

My bunk-mate, who woke up every morning at 5:30am. Do we look tired, dirty and sunburned? We are…

I'm always the teacher who gets nominated to wear the costumes...

I’m always the teacher who gets nominated to wear the costumes…

I conned him into taking a shower...after swimming, I just walked him into the bathroom and dumped soap on his head before he had a chance to protest. He hollered at first, and then decided it fell great and didn't want to get out.

I conned him into taking a shower…after swimming, I just walked him into the bathroom and dumped soap on his head before he had a chance to protest. He hollered at first, and then decided it fell great and didn’t want to get out.

Last day of camp - slightly grubbier version.

Last day of camp – slightly grubbier version.

7:30pm the first night home...

7:30pm the first night home…

Gabe was bored with all three of us gone, so he decided to build this as a surprise!

Gabe was bored with all three of us gone, so he decided to build this as a surprise!

And this on my desk Monday morning, sweet present from sweet friend.

And this on my desk Monday morning, sweet present from sweet friend.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

