Skip to content

“Shine Your Way”

August 26, 2013

light from within

It’s been THAT kind of week.

Or rather, THAT kind of week-end. The week before wasn’t bad. First week of school was pretty uneventful.

Then anarchy. Like all the good behavior and self-control wrung out, dried up, until there was simply nothing left when they got home Friday afternoon. Leaving nothing for Saturday. And Sunday.

It got ugly. I got mad. SO mad that I had to put myself in time-out and go for a walk. I stormed around the block, stomping down the sidewalk, furious, fuming, muttering under my breath.

They were ungrateful, and disrespectful, and crabby.

They were tired. It’s a new routine. I was tired. It’s a new routine.

I broke, and I bled a little. I wish I could tell you I came back from that walk whole, resolved and healed, but I didn’t. Slightly more calm, nothing more.

Not very shiny. Rather rusty.

I mentioned the incident last night on Facebook, and either all those people giving me a thumbs up are fist-bumping me in solidarity or secretly patting themselves on the back that my family is more crazy than theirs.

Maybe both.

Either way, it’s a win. Maybe my story made them feel better about theirs, or maybe they realized that they aren’t the only ones who get so fed up with their children that they start mentally envisioning a move to Australia.

Being shiny isn’t just about being open. It’s about reflecting. Air the laundry and the light gets through. Shining through the cracks and broken places, shining from me on to you. And now you can shine, too. I give you permission.

Life is beautiful, and brutal, as Glennon says. Equal parts of both. Or maybe not so equal. Some days it seems more brutal, but that’s the thing…talking about the brutal makes the brutal less brutal. Talking about it bridges that mental chasm we build around ourselves, imagining ourselves alone on this rock when really, we’re all in this together.

Go, be shiny. It doesn’t matter that your surface isn’t perfect, that there are cracks, bruises and broken places. It’s part of your patina. it’s part of the glow.

I ran across this song from Owl City today. I love it. I hope you do, too.

Keep looking up. When you keep your face towards the Light, the shadows will always fall behind you.

sig

The conversation continues over on Facebook. Follow my author page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sylvia judkins permalink
    August 26, 2013 9:24 pm

    Pure solidarity Adelle…..I seriously sat on a bench and prayed behind my sunglasses…telling God that I could be a mom all right, just not the one that my child needed today..I was plumb void of that gift……seeing all those comments reminded me that we all have one thing in common – “Hope” thanks for letting that reminder flow through your writing..

  2. Lisa permalink
    August 27, 2013 6:51 am

    Hang in there! Parenthood is such a journey and was for our mothers too! Good days and bad days and some you barely survive! Love this song!

  3. August 27, 2013 7:50 am

    I just wrote something similar for an email newsletter about shining. Matthew 5:16-In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. Thanks for sharing the song.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

