Skip to content

Finding Manna: Divine Reliance in the Everyday

August 28, 2013

manna

I did something yesterday that I don’t normally do.

Working for a church, we have people coming by regularly who are in need. We offer them food, sundries, counsel, Bibles, even clean socks or gas cards as available. We don’t provide cash, simply because we don’t have the resources to do so.

A woman came in and something about her struck me as a blow to the stomach. She was no different than the others, her story was just as tough. She asked for $20, and I knew I did not have it to give.

I don’t normally carry cash, either. Gabe usually filches it out of my wallet because it tends to fly away quickly in small bills, into the barista’s hand. And elsewhere.

Yesterday, I opened my wallet and found a $20. I don’t even remember how it got there, but there it was. Right when I needed it. Right when SHE needed it.

Manna.

A few years ago, we went through a bit of a crisis in our household and lived about six weeks in limbo of whether or not we should sell the house. It was one of those times when we were brought to our knees, living solely and wholly in the Lord’s grace, day by day for every moment, every decision.

Time and again, we would realize a need, only to turn around and find it met.

Little things and big things alike. We needed boxes – they arrived in a pile the very next day. We needed to clear out unneeded junk from the garage, only to wake up and find the neighbors having a garage sale. They graciously sold for us all that we had to move, and we pocketed a nice little sum as a result. We spent the day packing, and exhausted, heard the door-bell. Dinner arrived on the door step.

Over and over again. Big things and little things. Undeniably, manna.

And yet – things settle down, routine returns and the manna we had become so reliant upon disappears.

Or does it?

On the good days, how can we not see it? How can we be oblivious to the manna that arrives daily, hourly even, when our seas are smooth and calm? It is so obvious when times are stormy how the Lord holds us in the palm of His hand.

I almost long for those times of total Divine reliance.

When I rely on myself, I am blind.

When I rely solely on Him, I am whole.

May you see the manna in your life today, glorious manna to meet your every need.

sig

The conversation continues over on Facebook. Follow my author page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2013 10:21 am

    I really like this one as I often wonder the same. How is it that I don’t see the hand of God as easily when things are going smoothly vs. when things are hard. Maybe it’s because when things are hard I am searching for Hope, or Manna as you put it. Makes me think I need to focus on that more during the good times too. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  2. August 30, 2013 7:39 am

    Thanks for stopping by!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

