Skip to content

31 Days to Shine: Shine YOUR Way

October 19, 2013

If you set out to be liked, you would be prepared to compromise on anything at any time, and you would achieve nothing.
~Margaret Thatcher

I have a confession: not everybody likes me.

Shocking, i know. But, true.

It pains me to confess this. I am, what you might call, the quintessential People Pleaser. I want everyone to like me.

I’ve spent years agonizing over certain relationships. I’ve bent over backwards, I’ve prayed, I’ve schmoozed and tried my very best to be delightful and charming.

But it just doesn’t work.

There are lots of people who DO like me (I hope you are one of them) and for that I’m so thankful. But those one or two don’ts just eat away at my skin. Chafing and painful, like a tiny burn you can barely see but just can’t ignore. Tiny, but loud. Shrieking.

I will never win.

I want to be okay with not being okay with everybody. I want to be unconcerned about the one or two when there are so many other opinions worth listening to.

I’m not very good at this yet. I worry and fret about what the neighbors think. and I’ve tried to change myself to please another person. I’ve compromised. I’ve tried to be someone I’m not.

I want to shine MY way. I want to be okay with being me, with being enough. To never compromise on my kind of shine. Not their shine, mine. My shine.

Being shiny is about being yourself. Being courageous – being who you are with your whole heart.

Authenticity is a collection of choices that we have to make every day. It’s about the choice to show up and be real. The choice to be honest. The choice to let our true selves be seen.

~Brene Brown

Be shiny today! Be yourself, and you can’t help but glow.

sig

The conversation continues on Facebook. Follow my author page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

Screen-Shot-2013-09-30-at-12.24.36-PM

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2013 6:56 am

    You are just so shiny. You have a way about you. It’s wonderful. Shine On!

    “Well we all shine on
    Like the moon and the stars and the sun
    Yeah we all shine on
    On and on and on on and on” John Lennon.

  2. melody permalink
    October 20, 2013 2:18 pm

    I love you just the way you are!!! Please don’t change….just keep growing and shining!

  3. October 23, 2013 7:34 am

    I have a friend who just tells me like it is. She is a few years older, has older kids, and has gone through it all. Several years ago when I was telling her I might jump into the blogging world, I confessed: “I just want people to like me.” She laughed and flat out said: “You just need to get over that right now!” I didn’t realize how true and how helpful that advice was and how often I would refer back to that one sentence! I still struggle with wanting to be liked, but then I tell myself “get over it!” 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 31 Days to Shine: Choose to Shine, The End | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

