Skip to content

31 Days to Shine: You Are My Sunshine

October 22, 2013

Sunshine and shadow.

Every time I walk in the room, you make me feel like a rock star.

It’s been 15 minutes, an hour, or overnight — it doesn’t matter to you. You are so happy to see me first thing every morning, and two hours later when I walk by your classroom, and an hour after that while you are out on the playground at lunch.

You yell out “Mommy!” and rush across the room, or the playground and wrap your arms around me like I was your long lost friend.

Your smile could light up a small country. You radiate with joy. For me.

Every morning your dimples peep over the side of the bed like sunshine on my pillow. Equally beguiling, equally welcome.

“Mom, I love you more than rocket ships, and eyeballs and cantaloupe!” You called out to me as I left you at the classroom door.

Oh, that I could always be your hero, your rock star. Today when I kissed you goodbye you scrubbed at it fiercely with your hands. He’s wiping it off! I thought. But no. “I’m rubbing it all over my face, mom!” More dimples.

How do you come up with this stuff? To be so genuinely and utterly adorable.

And, at times, so equally and fiercely defiant. I told you to take a bath, and a bath you did not want to have. You stomped. You fumed. You ranted and raged. Behind the closed door I could still hear you. “Why is EV.ER>Y.BOD.Y. telling me what to DO! I can TAKE CARE of MYSELF!”

You are a myriad of emotions, a rainbow, wondrous and amazing. When you are 16 and lanky and cool, don’t forget that once I was your rock star. Wrap your arms around me once or twice and remember. Let me stand on my tiptoes to kiss your forehead every once in a while.

You’ll always be my sunshine.

sig

The conversation continues on Facebook. Follow my author page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

Screen-Shot-2013-09-30-at-12.24.36-PM

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2013 7:30 am

    I’ll never ever forget when he said “I love you so much I’m going to burst into flames!”

  2. October 23, 2013 11:59 pm

    The other day, I walked out to the mailbox. When I came back, my adorable 3.5 year old boy came running out the door, threw his arms around my legs, and squeezed tightly while saying, “Mommy, you came back! I missed you! Oh, I love you, Mommy!” What a mushy little boy! He has no idea, I think, what he does to my melted heart when he says and does this! 😍

Trackbacks

  1. 31 Days to Shine: Choose to Shine, The End | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

