Skip to content

Worth Repeating: Finding the Freedom to Fail

January 4, 2014

Emily Freeman pointed out wisely that there is no such thing as writer’s block. There is only the fear of writing badly. This is something I struggle with daily – is what I’m writing really worth reading? I write, and it sits unread in my “Drafts” folder, afraid to venture out into the big world and be unremarkable. Gradually, over time, I stop writing altogether.

I’ve joined up this month with Jeff Goin’s 500 words challenge. I’m writing 500 words a day. Good, bad, ugly, 500. The end. Obviously this is early days yet, so it’s impossible to see where this is going, but I’m praying that God does something with me during the next three weeks. Some will be blogged, some won’t. But trying to put myself out there more, that’s part of the journey.

The thing I love about God is He intentionally guides people into failure. He made us be born as little kids who can’t walk or talk or even use a bathroom correctly. We have to be taught everything. All that learning takes time, and He made us so we are dependent on Him, our parents, and each other. The whole thing is designed so we try again and again until we finally get it right. And the whole time He is endlessly patient.

Failure is just part of the process, and it’s not just okay; it’s better than okay. God doesn’t want failure to shut us down. God didn’t make it a three-strikes-and-you’re-out sort of thing. It’s more about how God helps us dust ourselves off so that we can swing for the fences again. And all of this without keeping a meticulous record of our screw-ups.

Bob Goff, Love Does

sig

The conversation continues on Facebook. Follow my author page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

