Skip to content

The Illuminated Life: This Little Light of Mine

April 23, 2014

The Illuminated Life Series

There are just some people in the world who get you.

I mean , really get you. When I first heard Cheri speak at a MOPS group, oh so long ago, I thought…this chick gets it. 

As I got to know here better I realized…I think we were very possibly separated at birth. Similar personalities, similar stories. She is bubbly and fun and insightful and crazy devoted to the Lord. Enjoy!

**********************************

This Little Light of Mine

by Cheri Gregory

As a child, I loved action songs at Vacation Bible School.

I made up for my utter lack of singing talent with my 110% enthusiasm for the motions.

With my “little light” held high, I belted out

This little light of mine:

I’m going to let it shine!

This little light of mine:

I’m going to let it shine!

Let it shine!
Let it shine!
Let it shine!

My favorite verse involved cupping one hand over the other…and then suddenly pulling it away:

Hide it under a bushel?
No!

I’m going to let it shine!
Hide it under a bushel?
No!
I’m going to let it shine!

Oh, how I miss the eager optimism of childhood.

As an adult, my answer to “Hide it under a bushel?” is often a muffled “Yes.”

My “bushels” are usually of my own making.

I try to root out destructive behaviors from my life.  No more “comfort foods.”  No more meddling.  No more (ironically enough) negativity!

But all too soon, my inner critic notices my resolve slipping away.

  • “Weren’t there twelve cinnamon rolls earlier today?”
  • “What’s with the ‘stalker mom’ and ‘smother mother’ routines?  Feeling especially insecure today, are we?
  • “Aren’t you supposed to be the champion of living Complaint-Free?”

I determine to start new healthy habits, like recognizing family birthdays, exercising regularly, getting eight hours of sleep each night.

Within weeks (more often, days) my inner critic is having a hey-day:

  • “Why didn’t you call your brother to wish him Happy Birthday?”
  • “How come the elliptical is gathering dust again this week?”
  • “Wow, midnight. Do you know how u-g-l-y this is gonna be in the morning?!?”

All alone, hiding under the “bushel,” I feel the suffocating darkness of shame pressing in from all sides.

My little light flickers.

A friend lifts the bushel.

She’s unfazed by my fizzle.

She knows where to find me; that’s where she once hid, too.

She shows me, in this moment, what love looks like.

God shines through her, banishing my shame and reviving my little light.

For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,”

made his light shine in our hearts to give us

the light of the knowledge of God’s glory

displayed in the face of Christ.

2 Cor 4:6

When I’m alone in the dark, I can’t see the strength of God’s light shining in me and through me.

But when I witness God’s light shining through you, I dare to believe He will shine through me, too.

The Jesus Calling devotional for September 4 closes with these words:

“This is My way of living in the world–through you!
Together we will push back the darkness,
for I am the light of the world.”

So next time you see a “bushel” and hear a muffled “yes,” go ahead.

Lift it up.

Darkness cannot extinguish your light.

But God, living in you, can reignite a little light.

Together, we will push back the darkness.

Together, we will hold up the Light and

Let it shine!

Let it shine!

Let it shine!

Gregory Cheri Guest Post Image

*****************************************

CLG-16-215x300A Certified Personality Trainer, Cheri has written numerous magazine articles and drama scripts and is featured in Wired That Way: the Complete Personality Plan by Marita Littauer, The Husband Project andThe Marriage Project by Kathi Lipp. She also contributed the personality questionnaire and applications to 21 Ways to Connect With Your Kids by Kathi Lipp.

Cheri has been married for 24 years to her opposite personality, Daniel, a pastor / teacher / musician. She answers to calls of “Mom” from Annemarie and Jonathon, respectively, a senior Fine Arts major and sophomore Chemistry major at the college where Mom and Dad met over a quarter of a century ago.

Cheri has always considered herself an author and writer, having published her first book at the tender age of two. She’ll recite it for you if you ask her nicely!

When not writing, she loves riding at the Monterey Bay Horsemanship and Therapeutic Center and jogging with her excitable but loyal Keeshond, Shatzi.

Don’t miss a minute! Subscribe to her blog. Find more of Cheri on Facebook, Twitter, or Pinterest.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheri Gregory permalink
    April 23, 2014 8:16 am

    Heya Adelle ‹

    Thank you SO much for the invitation to guest post ‹ such an honor. Love how it turned out!

    You¹re inspiring me to start such a seriesŠhmmmŠ.

    🙂

    C

    From: Adelle Gabrielson Reply-To: Adelle Gabrielson Date: Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at 5:21 AM To: Cheri Gregory Subject: [New post] The Illuminated Life: This Little Light of Mine

    WordPress.com Adelle Gabrielson posted: ” There are just some people in the world who get you. I mean , really get you. When I first heard Cheri speak at a MOPS group, oh so long ago, I thought…this chick gets it. As I got to know here better I realized…I think we were very possibly se”

  2. Lisa permalink
    April 23, 2014 8:29 am

    Loved the post and the song! My husband and I have just started memorizing Scriptures from John. Our current verse: John 1:5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

  3. April 23, 2014 9:48 pm

    Cheri! How fun to visit Adelle’s blog and find you writing here 🙂 I loved the heart of your post and the champion call for all of us to lift that bushel. It will stick to my ribs, I’m sure.

  4. sh2rose permalink
    April 26, 2014 12:45 am

    Cheri, here I am identifying with these thoughts and your heart. The years have brought me to a place where I often feel like I’m hiding under the bushel. Recently, I was able to share again, the redeeming power of God in my life in bringing me out of severe depression with a group of laypeople and pastors studying crisis in ministry. I felt alive on my drive home.

    I, also went to a women’s fellowship last night and realized I don’t have to do all of this life thing alone at this stage of my life. Thanks for you words!

Trackbacks

  1. Together We Will Push Back the Darkness - Cheri Gregory

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

