Skip to content

A Half-Day In My Life: The Last 12 Hours

June 4, 2014

I know all you girl-moms out there wonder what it is that we boy-moms are always complaining about.

You have your own drama, of that I’m certain. Here’s a little peep into our world, just an average snippet of my every-day life. Now you know…

6pm: I look out the front window to see one of my sons standing at the curb, loading up the recycling can in broad daylight, for all the world to see…in his underwear. And no, it was not boxers, or even boxer briefs.

2:21am: Woke up to hear the door from the garage slamming shut. Frantically woke Gabe, who leapt from bed, simultaneously running and climbing into a pair of shorts, before plunging out the front door to the driveway, ready and prepared to tackle whatever bad guys were in the process of stealing his brand-new mountain bike. Or so he assumed.

I cowered at the front window in terror, when from behind me, a small voice came out of the darkness from the direction of the garage: “Why is daddy in the driveway? I just wanted to get my blanket out of the dryer.”

6:30am: In the middle of the morning rush-get-ready-for-school, somehow forty gallons (or so) of water were dumped on the kitchen floor in a dog-water-bowl incident. Noah’s flood required six bath towels and four hand towels to sop up, but on the bright side, the kitchen floor is nice and clean.

Is this normal? Does this ring familiar? Oh, do tell. Please say I’m not alone…

sig

The conversation continues! Follow along on Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter or Facebook.

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    June 4, 2014 7:56 am

    I totally related to the water thing. Anthony did something similar the other day. Now that he is in underwear (Finally at 3 years and one month!) He loves to walk around in them.

  2. June 4, 2014 10:59 am

    That sounds like a good day.

  3. June 4, 2014 5:02 pm

    So this is what I get to look forward to ….boy-moms unite!

  4. June 5, 2014 7:48 am

    I am laughing so hard at these boy antics! It reminds me of a few we have had at our house. One day in particular, my son was about 4 or 5, and we had gone out to dinner. On the way home, he announced that he needed to get to the bathroom rather quickly. So, when we pulled into the driveway, we told him he could be first to go as soon as he got out of the car. Bad choice of words. He dropped his pants right there in the front yard and began to pee on the begonias. My only saving grace was that he was facing the house and not the street. I was MORTIFIED!! It makes a good story now, but I was dying inside at the time. Sometimes, you just have to laugh…it’s good for the soul!
    Blessings to all!
    KK

    • June 5, 2014 7:53 am

      Ah yes, the front yard emergency pee…we’ve had that happen! “At least go around BEHIND the bushes!!!”

  5. Robert Stone permalink
    June 5, 2014 3:10 pm

    At least it was not a ring-bearer at an aunt’s wedding.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

