Skip to content

Five Minute Friday: Change

August 22, 2014

 

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – don’t edit; don’t second-guess.
2. Link back The Gypsy Mama and invite others to join in.
3. Leave a comment for the person who linked up before you – encouraging them in their writing!

Change

Change, like the snap of fall, is in the air. School’s begun, our summer routine of swimming and lounging replaced with bell schedules, lunch boxes, and homework.

I’ve never been good with change. I like the status quo. I drive the same routes, a creature of habit and structure. Change is hard. Change requires that I adapt – new routines, new routes, new car line procedures.

Change means I might get it wrong. I don’t yet know all the rules. My fallback “if I can’t win I won’t play” doesn’t work here. They need me to adapt. They need me to lead, show them the way.

I put on my smile and tell them this is FUN! It’s exciting! New and different! Awesome!

Inside I quake, but for them I wear my bravery and put one foot in front of the other. Change is good, I tell them and myself. Change is good.

We can do hard things.

Walking into the school yard yesterday, we were both the new kids. He with his backpack and me, my shivering pride. Knowing no one, knowing nothing, we are at their mercy, all the others standing in clusters, coffee mugs in hand, laughing, talking, re-connecting. He scampers off, coolly confident, choosing his own seat in the center of the room. I slip out the door with a small wave, his head already turning away from me, engaged in his new life.

Standing outside the room, I watch as other parents slip in and out. It is a quieter scene that I am used to, these middle schoolers barely throwing us, their parents, a backward glance. I take a picture, and with a grin, briefly he turns his head toward me.

On the sidewalk, I stand alone in this new world, watching and listening to the foreign sounds of changed life. For a second, I am swallowed up in loneliness, but it is brief, for in another instant, a woman nearby turns to me, smiling, and extends her hand.

And I am no longer alone.

Your turn: head on over to the Gypsy Mama’s blog and link up!

sig

The conversation continues!  For more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life, join me over on Instagram, on Pinterest and on Twitter and on Facebook

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2014 1:01 pm

    oh my heart – so wonderfully captured, so much emotion and truth in those times of transition. thank you for sharing. it’s great to read your words again and happy back-to-school time! 🙂 kira

    • August 22, 2014 1:07 pm

      Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, and for your kind encouragement Kira! Hugs to you!

  2. pastordt permalink
    August 23, 2014 4:17 pm

    Beautifully said, Adelle. Each transition brings its own bitter-sweetness.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

