Skip to content

Worth Repeating: Writing Extraordinary

December 29, 2014

Beautiful words that have caught my attention of late.

 

18293427

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time. This single quote is perfection:

His heart is too full, and no words to release it. I know what words do, he thinks. They let us feel less.

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, a novel by Gabrielle Zevin.

This article grabbed me from the very first sentence; I connected with every word.

“Dressing up was my mother’s way of taking control, and making sure that she felt her best going into a situation that, though she didn’t betray it at the time, left her shaken and scared.”

from Dressing Like My Mother, by Anna Nordberg

This quote reminds me of all those people in my life that believe that my writing is going to, someday, amount to something. Someday, I hope to believe in that, too.

“Sometimes the idea that somebody else might believe in you can be enough to tie you over until the day you yourself do.” – Hozier

Hozier: What I’m Thankful For by Andrew Hozier-Byrne

Lastly, this video made me laugh but the lyrics made me wistful.  Poetic truth.

Well, sing, sing at the top of your voice,
Love without fear in your heart.
Feel, feel like you still have a choice
If we all light up we can scare away the dark

Passenger, Scare Away the Dark

Shine on, friends.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 30, 2014 2:32 pm

    I can’t wait to read that book, Adelle! Adding it to Goodreads now. And as per the writing piece, in this journey with you!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

