Skip to content

What Not to Pray (Unless You Really Mean It)

February 18, 2015

What Not to Pray

At one point I wished it was cancer. I’d rather die of cancer than Huntington’s Disease.

I did pretty well up until I turned 40, and suddenly the time bomb clicked to life, ticking down the seconds of my life.

Every time I choked on a glass of water, or my foot twitched in bed, I knew. It’s Coming.

My handwriting isn’t what it once was. Someone even commented upon it “You don’t write as neatly as I thought you would” and I knew. My fine-motor was already beginning to degrade. It’s Coming.

I was certain the results would be positive. Certain to my core. Every sermon, scripture and song on the radio was teeing up the shot – this is your life, girl. Either get busy living or get busy dying, but your days are numbered.

It wasn’t a life I wanted, not at all, but do we ever have a choice in the matter? My mother didn’t have a choice. HD was certainly not in her plan. Why should I be any different?

Last summer, Oceans was playing everywhere. I listened to that song over and over. Take me deeper than my soul could ever wander, let my faith become stronger….

Warning: Don’t say it if you don’t mean it. Really, don’t.

I had no idea the waters I was wading into, or just how deep I’d go. He drew me in until I had no other way back but through Him.

I have never imagined my life beyond the age of 45. Everything I’ve ever wanted to accomplish, it all had to be done in the next four years, soon to be three.

I was 21 when my mother started losing her mind. If my results were positive, my youngest would only be 10. I had two decades of my mother to remember, and yet it’s still hard to shut out the bad years and remember the good. The bad years were Just. So Bad.

How are my boys ever going to remember that I sang them Siúil A Rún every night at bedtime? How are they going to remember the piggy-back rides when they were toddlers and how I once allowed them to dip their pizza in chocolate sauce?

New Year’s Day was an ugly day. I had to get off of social media, away from the the myriad of “One Word” posts.

Prosper! Aspire! Choose! Focus!

Me? How about LIFE. I’d just like to live, thankyouverymuch. There were a lot of tears that day, and then a migraine. They have become close friends in my life, tears and migraines. Great buddies. Inseparable.

I woke up on January 2nd and decided that this is not how I want to live the next six weeks. That’s not living, that’s dying. Already. And I’m not dying. Not yet, anyway.

I’d just like to see my kids grow up. To know that I’m not going to terrorize them with the insanity that is coming in the next few years. To plan for their graduation parties, to be a part of their weddings. To spoil my grandchildren.

I’d like to take a vacation and not wonder if it’s the last time we’ll ever visit this place. I’d like to hold my seven-year-old at bedtime, snuggly-sleepy warm in my arms, and not wonder if he’ll remember this moment, or will all of the Bad Stuff yet to come scrub it from his memory.

I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be….

Heck, I’d like to plan for retirement.

Living with someone with HD is like living with an alcoholic. Only,  it’s not a result of their own choices, it’s not their fault at all. 

You’re not supposed to be mad at someone who is ill, but yet they are angry and cruel and manipulative. How would my young sons survive, when I barely did and I was an adult when I went through all that?

What about the photos? I’m the one who is always taking the pictures, how will they know what I looked like before my face begins to twist in spasm and tics? How will they remember that I used to ride a bike, run, hike, when I’m strapped into a wheelchair so that when I flail with chorea, I don’t fling myself right out of the chair?

There was a calm in the days leading up to my results. Resignation, if not acceptance.

I had hope that they would be negative, but I did not believe in that hope. Positive results, that I had indeed inherited the Huntington’s gene, were far easier to believe in.

With a battle cry carved into my ankle, a command to myself, I dressed carefully the day of my final appointment.

I chose carefully. The Right Shoes, with which to do the Hard Things.

It is perhaps shallow, and a bit frivolous, to think that shoes imbue anything beyond a bit of trifling pleasure.

But to me, that Hard Day, they were a bit like armor. A shoring up of resolve. A summoning of courage.

wearing red

She dresses in fine linen and purple gowns.

and…

She is clothed with strength and dignity,
    and she laughs without fear of the future.

Proverbs 31:22, 25 (NLT)

There were three doctors in the room, a battalion of caregivers, ready to console and counsel. For them, this was routine. They would sleep tonight regardless of the answer I was about to receive. I briefly wondered if anyone in my place ever threw up on their shoes. Searching their faces for some clue; they were all somber, a studied mask of empathy upon their faces.

I was barely seated when quickly, the geneticist turned to me and said.

“It’s good news.”

I looked at him, hearing the words but not grasping the meaning. How could my testing positive be good news?!

“You do not have the Huntington’s gene.”

 

Read the backstory:

On Death, Joy, and Tattoos

My Story: Why I Write

That Which Is Good

sig

The conversation continues!  For more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life, join me over on InstagramPinterest, or Facebook

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2015 7:23 pm

    I’m so sorry that your family has had to deal with this terrible disease but so happy that you don’t have the gene! Happy dance!!

  2. February 18, 2015 7:46 pm

    I love you and I need a shot of tequila.
    Ahhhhhh thank you thank you for this . you took us through your soul and rollercoaster. I’m still speechless. Date soon? Xx

  3. February 18, 2015 7:47 pm

    I’m still recovering from the last post and now this one.

  4. February 18, 2015 8:13 pm

    I’ve been praying, holding my breath, and waiting for the other shoe to drop…when you would write again and give the news. My heart is full of rejoicing, my dearest. You will shine on and in you your Mother goes on also. I can’t see to type anymore. I’m smiling through my tears.

  5. Wendy Power permalink
    February 18, 2015 8:15 pm

    I was not expecting finishing that with a brief but energetic tearfest but, there you go. A sunshower. Grief for your family living under this shadow, and so much joy for the sunshine ahead. I need to hug your neck.

  6. Sylvia permalink
    February 18, 2015 9:08 pm

    Praise God! Is it o.k that we all want to hug you the next time we see you😉 these have been hard days, I’m sure. Thank you for sharing your precious heart with us Adelle….

  7. sandy dawson permalink
    February 18, 2015 9:20 pm

    Praise God! I know your sweet Mama is also doing a happy dance in Heaven because of this most wonderful news. You are a strong woman who laughs without fear of the future! Love you.

  8. Elaine permalink
    February 19, 2015 7:40 am

    HALLELUJAH!!!

  9. February 19, 2015 12:49 pm

    Hallelujah. Amen. So, so relieved and happy for you 😀 And I love the red-shoe-armor philosophy: I totally do that too 🙂

  10. pastordt permalink
    February 19, 2015 2:40 pm

    Ohmygoodnessgracioussakesalive!!!! I’ve got your earlier post marked to read later today, but I’m so glad I read this one first. I had no clue you were dealing with this, Adelle. So much love to you and deep gratitude for such joyful, powerful good news. WOW.

  11. February 19, 2015 8:46 pm

    Thank the Good Lord, I am so glad that you who have so much to give to all of us; are likely to be around for a very long time. Love & admire you.
    Dale Craddock

  12. February 24, 2015 6:09 pm

    Of course you chose red shoes. That is so YOU. How am I so blessed to call you friend? I LOVE YOU.

  13. March 13, 2015 4:53 pm

    Such good news…im so very happy for you!

  14. March 19, 2015 6:37 pm

    I just met you at the Books & Such blog, and I am delighted with your test results. I grew up with HD–three aunts and two uncles, Grandpa died of it before I was born. We didn’t have a name for it until I was an adult myself with kids. Amazingly, only one in my generation inherited the family curse. It seems that it passes more easily from father than mother, and none of my aunts passed it to my cousins. I understand the fear–every time you trip, every time you stumble over the words, “Oh dear God, I have it.” How glorious to know that you do NOT have it! An interesting sideline story from our family–adoptions were accepted with great joy. The family figures that anybody else’s gene pool is better than ours! My brother and I both adopted sibling sets.

Trackbacks

  1. Time For Change: A New Look, and Why | Adelle Gabrielson
  2. Huntington’s Disease – Facts, Not Fiction, about the “Worst Disease Known to Mankind” Part I | Adelle Gabrielson
  3. Huntington’s Disease: Losing Karen, Part II | Adelle Gabrielson
  4. Huntington’s Disease: Part III, Now You Know, What Can You Do? | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

