Skip to content

Guest Posting for Magnifications

May 18, 2015

hunger always wins

I am guest posting today for a beautiful website called Magnifications, a blog of theological reflections written by women from the Churches of Christ. Check it out!

Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve had issues with food.

I used food as a means of controlling something when I wasn’t in control of anything. By taking authority over what I put in my mouth (or didn’t) I disassociated myself from that which I could not control – my mother’s illness, for example – and put the focus back on myself. Food gave me a sense of control and power when I felt out of control and powerless.

Unfortunately, false security and power don’t really stick to your ribs. Hunger can only be denied for so long. Even to the most authoritative anorexic, hunger will, eventually, win. The body will do whatever is necessary to regain balance, sending up red flags and warning bells, hunger always wins. No anorexic remains in control forever.

Hunger is something that dwells deep inside, a mortal ache of emptiness. It is not a quiet longing but an urgent yearning. For fullness. The yawning emptiness of depression, loss, grief…they mimic this mortal ache. So often we confuse one longing for another. So often we seek to end our spiritual emptiness with the temporal and temporary substitute of food.

Read more…

 

sig

The conversation continues!  For more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life, join me over on InstagramPinterest, or Facebook

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

Do you Pinterest? Join me over on my new Pinterest Board: Pinterest-y Disasters – a place to collect all the crazy ideas we know will turn out just awful, or to post a really glorious Pinterest Fail!

One Comment leave one →
  1. patthesilverlady permalink
    May 19, 2015 12:23 pm

    So glad others will have the opportunity to be introduced to you and your gift through this guest post. You are able to take note of life’s small special moments that others might not note and bring out universal truth we can all relate to. I am prayerful for you to have many more forums that others may come to read your words.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

