Skip to content

Friday Favorites (What I’m In To This Week)

August 28, 2015

Best Video:

My Dad, My Superhero 

This is totally Gabe. Fast reflexes, I ain’t got ’em. I’m glad he does!

Best Book:

Rick-Steves-Florence-and-Tuscany-300x300

This is what I’m reading this week. Happy dance! We are finally heading to Italy this fall. It’s a trip I have, literally, been planning for a lifetime.

Best Posts:

Magnifcations is a blog I write for quarterly, entirely written by women in ministry. This is a great post on keeping perspective, and the importance of prayer.

***************

 

I was eight years old, and my mother woke me up early in the morning so we could sit on the floor in front of our wood-cased television and watch a real-life fairy tale. The marriage of Prince Charles and Lady Diana did not end in a fairy tale, but my mother, a devout anglophile, loved the Royals. She subscribed to magazines about Royals, she loved their clothes and above all, we loved their weddings. This was too much fun not to share…maybe one or two of you will remember that July wedding in 1981!

Best Quote:

Everything can be taken from a man but one thing,” Frankl wrote in Man’s Search for Meaning, “the last of the human freedoms — to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.

A Psychiatrist Who Survived The Holocaust Explains Why Meaningfulness Matters More Than Happiness

Best Shoes:

I have been on a months-long quest to find comfortable, closed-toe walking shoes to wear in Italy on our trip next month. I’m told we can expect mild weather most days, but cool nights and rain some days. Cobblestones and mud. This poses quite a footwear dilemma, but I have finally triumphed.

For daytime exploring, paired with skinny jeans, oversize t-shirts and cardigans:

Picture1Grasshoppers Highview Denim Sport Flat

For rainy days, nicer restaurants, and my favorite red trench coat. Leather, with a rubber lug sole, and I sized up a half size so I can add a cushy insole or socks.

Picture2

Blondo Rima Bootie

Best #Sleepattack

Sleep does not come upon my youngest child calmly and quietly…it sneaks up on him and attacks. He falls prey, helpless, every night and I take photos of the best and post them to my Instagram. Here’s my favorite from this week:

2

Happy Friday, everyone! What are you in to this week?

 

 

sig

The conversation continues!  For more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life, join me over on InstagramPinterest, or Facebook

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

Do you Pinterest? Join me over on my new Pinterest Board: Pinterest-y Disasters – a place to collect all the crazy ideas we know will turn out just awful, or to post a really glorious Pinterest Fail.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabe Gabrielson permalink
    August 28, 2015 8:43 am

    I love the part where the guy jumps onto the air mattress and launched the kid into the other guy’s hands

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

