Skip to content

Gratitude Wednesday: How Edamame Saved the Day

February 8, 2012

I’m finding myself in a state of extreme thankfulness right this moment. And shaking so bad I can barely type.

  • I’m thankful for the bag of frozen edamame that was readily available in the freezer door that I opened as soon as I heard the scream.
  • I’m thankful that Scooby, hyperactive goofball that he can be, immediately grasped the gravity of the moment and did not walk, but ran to get his dad at my quiet command.
  • I’m thankful that Scrappy never saw what was smeared all over me and the bag of edamame clamped to his scalp.
  • I’m thankful that I pulled off a really good impression of calm, cool, and collected when really I was panicked and hysterical.
  • I’m thankful the bleeding stopped on it’s own, and that we are not, at this very moment, on our way to get stitches in the dead of night.
  • I’m thankful that I now know exactly how I’m going to respond to head wounds in the future, having just had a bit of practice.

Just another evening in the life of a boy-mom. You’ll have to excuse me while I go pass out now.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 10:56 pm

    I once did am informal survey at LDYR and asked every man I met if he’d ever cracked his skull open. My final tally was 72 yes, 1 no. Many regaled me with tales of multiple scalp-splittings as soon as I asked, my husband included. Sorry hon, but it’s definitely genetic. Glad everything came out ok.

    • February 9, 2012 7:56 am

      Christy – so true. I knew this day would come, and on the whole, this was MINOR. Scooby’s already done it twice, so our day is still coming!

  2. February 9, 2012 7:10 am

    Way to go mum! I’ve found I’ve had the meltdown and shakes after the event, but like you managed to pull off some semblance of calm and confidence in the moment. Almost passing out with you – I know that feeling. Do something extra nice for yourself today! 🙂

    • February 9, 2012 7:57 am

      I think I deserve a nap today, yes? All is well this morning – he completely forgot he’d even bonked his head.

  3. Emiky Nelson permalink
    February 9, 2012 7:47 am

    Ah I can so relate, Adelle! A dark towel instead of a white one to press against open, gushing wounds is also a way to keep the ‘fake’ calm! 🙂

  4. February 9, 2012 8:02 am

    Thanks boy-mom Emily! I need to start stocking dark towels on the kitchen side of the house…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

