Skip to content

Worth Repeating: The Get Yourself Organized Project

May 28, 2012

When I heard that Kathi Lipp had just published yet another book, I was delighted. The stuff she’s producing is relevant, helpful, easy-to-use and downright FUN to read.

But then I heard the title: The Get Yourself Organized Project: 21 Steps to Less Mess and Stress.

Well, I don’t need that! I thought. I’m already organized!

I love to organize. To clean, even.

But then, the same week I received a copy of her new book my sweet husband lost his house keys three times. He could never remember the last really sensible place he left them.

His dresser was so covered in stuff, he couldn’t see the keys. Ditto with his desk.

Then I looked over at my dresser. School projects, mother’s day cards, a package of  Pokemon trading cards that had been confiscated, a large eraser, a sock, and lots and lots of jewelry that I hadn’t yet put back in my super-organized jewelry cabinet.

Later that day I was trying to fix dinner, but couldn’t find enough work space because the counter was covered in vitamins, homework, receipts and bills, stray stickers, several band-aids, LEGOs and the cat brush. Eww. Why is that in my kitchen?!

The living room – pretty much the same. Shoes and socks especially are making like rabbits all over the house…they are multiplying in every room.

When did I get so un-organized?!

So I started reading…

Once again Kathi breaks challenging goals into bite-sized, achievable nibbles, each one sweetened with her authentic humor and personal stories. How can you not love Kathi? Whatever it is you’re going through, she’s been there.

By the end of Memorial Day weekend, my kitchen looked like a kitchen again, I have found the top of both our bedroom dressers, and well, the office…the office is a big hairy audacious goal that I now know how to take on.

If you have stress, and we all have stress, then you probably have a little mess in your lives, too. This book is well worth your time – Kathi’s grace and humor make tackling the un-fun task of getting organized entertaining and fun.

Finally, an organizational book for women who have given up trying to be Martha Stewart but still desire some semblance of order in their lives.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

