Skip to content

31 Days to Shine: The Poetry of God

October 3, 2013

I AM A BOYMOM.

I think there should be a gold statue for that. Like an Oscar. Because people, this job is hard. Arduous, excruciating, painful, and relatively thankless.

It can be downright discouraging at times.

Why me? Why not pretty princesses who roar their drama in words (like me)? Why all this testosterone?! I can’t deal with this.

And then I remember…this didn’t happen by accident. This is no freak mistake that these wild hooligans, flesh of my flesh, bone of my bone, were born to me (and the best husband that ever walked the earth. Although, if we’re being honest, it is all sort of his fault. I just provided the XX. He had to go and bring in the Y. I digress.)

There are no accidents. We are not a tossed-salad of circumstances, unplanned, unintended.

We are workmanship. Craftsmanship. Planned, intended, created, intentional and deliberate.

poetry

Those ramshackle rough and tumble boys are poetry. The poetry of God.

And they were planned for me. My part of the puzzle, the Great Plan of Rescue for the world, my piece of this pie is to be their mom. To point them to Jesus, so they can go and do the same for someone else.

As hard as it is to be their mom, it is yet a privilege to be so. Like the sweet note I posted a photo of yesterday – I love that I am their mom. They are just right for me.

And remember…

Being shiny isn’t about being happy and perfect all the time. It’s about telling the truth, and when we tell the truth, we light the path for someone else.

Go then, and be shiny today! Don’t just do it for yourself, do it for her. She needs your glow.

sig

The conversation continues on Facebook. Follow my author page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

Screen-Shot-2013-09-30-at-12.24.36-PM

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

