Skip to content

>Red Writing Hood: Rocking

September 3, 2010

>

Dark and shiny
When I was new.

She added a soft cushion.
I sat waiting.

Then the little one came.
Late at night,
those two.

I was never lonely
in the dark.
Lullabies they shared
Ancient words
Whispered, soothing.

Time passed.
My nights were longer.
Quiet now.
Gentle breathing
From her crib.

Then the crib was gone
And so was I.
Moved downstairs
Where there were two.

Noise and play
Replaced the nursery peace.
TV dinners.
MASH when it was new.

At times, I was a prison
A fort.
A time-out.
A space ship.
A cock-pit.

And my favorite times
When she was there
And they were, too.
Babies again,
In her lap

Rocking.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 4:43 pm

    >what great tribute to what must have been a cherished item. My mom has a rocking chair that was her grandmother's and I hope someday it will be mine 🙂

  2. September 3, 2010 5:36 pm

    >Aww…very sweet!

  3. September 3, 2010 5:57 pm

    >It's always more than just a rocking chair, isn't it?

  4. September 3, 2010 6:07 pm

    >I agree, a lovely story about an obviously fondly remembered chair. Where you talk about the late nights and lullabies just brings back memories of rocking with my daughter as a baby and how you describe the changes in the use of the chair over time is just lovely.

  5. September 3, 2010 7:20 pm

    >What a sweet poem! I enjoyed hearing all the imaginary things the chair had become for the kids.

  6. September 4, 2010 12:37 am

    >Oh I love it, and I love that you did a poem. I have looked at the rocker in my son's room and seen how it is so worn in so little a time. Not to be gross – but breastmilk, formula, throw up, everything on that chair. (of course it's been clean, but all those things have happened there, and there are worn spots.).

  7. September 4, 2010 1:38 am

    >This was great– so, so sweet!

  8. September 4, 2010 2:30 am

    >Awww…. this is cute… really cute

  9. September 4, 2010 5:57 pm

    >I loved the journey you took me on with the rocking chair…i used the one i had as a little girl with my own kids…so precious!

  10. September 5, 2010 4:43 pm

    >Hi… I just wanted to say, I miss your mom for you too.

  11. September 5, 2010 10:10 pm

    >i'm looking at our rocking chair right now and i'm tearing up – and i don't cry. a very moving poem!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

