Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday: Overtime

September 6, 2010

>It’s not that I think he would have drowned right there and then, at the birthday party in a pool full of people. I don’t – a second later, someone surely would have seen that he was no longer clutching the wall, standing on the step, but was, in fact, under water.

It’s that it happened. Just. Like. That.

One moment he was in the kiddie pool, splashing around. The next, I looked up and he wasn’t there. I quickly walked across the deck to the olympic-sized adult pool to see him going down the steps, holding the wall. And then he wasn’t. As I reached the edge, he was looking up at me, bubbles rising, fear on his little face…that was several inches under the water. It was a pool full of adults watching their own kids. Silently he had slipped under with nary a splash or a gasp to call attention to himself. I jumped in, towel and all, and snatched him out.

All is well. Not a drop was even swallowed.

But it was a sudden and abrupt reminder to be watchful. Ever watchful. It doesn’t look anything like you’d expect, drowning.

I read this artcle several months back and dismissed it as alarmist media; one more thing to frighten parents.

I’ve changed my mind. Read it. If you have kids, if you’re around kids, if you ever step foot in the ocean or a swimming pool…read it. Know.

Today I’m grateful that angels are working overtime where my family is concerned.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 9:44 pm

    >That is TERRIFYING. I am so glad you got to him so quickly. My eldest got knocked down in the kiddie pool when he was really little and tho I got to him w/in seconds it was like slo-motion, and I will never forget the look on his face when he was under. Hugs to you and your little guy!And yes – kids drown without a sound.

  2. September 6, 2010 10:27 pm

    >What a relief! I am glad to have read it, just to reinforce the need for safety in water!

  3. September 6, 2010 10:57 pm

    >And you will be signing your boys up for swimming lessons tomorrow, right?!?! Back here, a summer doesn't go by without at least one usually several kids that drown who never had swimming lessons. Often multiple drownings at one time when a brother/sister tries to rescue the drowning victim and they themselves have never had swimming lessons. Of course, the article never contains following question to the parent "Why had your children never been taught to swim, or at least had drown-proofing class?" As a former 5-year old near drowning victim (fell in at 10 ft end of the pool; Dad saw me in after about 30 seconds), you can bet that Matt was in swimming lessons as soon as possible. Stepping off soapbox now…

  4. September 7, 2010 12:27 pm

    >The best thing I can do in response to this well written reminder and warning is pass along the article. Done! Now I will pray thanks again and ask your angels to keep working overtime.

  5. September 7, 2010 1:38 pm

    >A similar thing happened to me this summer…my three year old, as I sat and watched horrified, jumped right into five feet of water. Thank God I was watching her. I jumped in and pulled her out. And like your boy, not a drop was swallowed. It was enough to scare the dickens out of me, though. You cannot be too careful around water. You really cannot.

  6. September 8, 2010 3:43 am

    >Oooooh, Scrappy. How sad a world this would be without you in it. Please be careful little one! Your family (and extended church family) need you, kiddo!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

