Skip to content

>I Just Can’t Help It

February 10, 2011

>Wise men say
Only fools rush in

What a week. The kids staged a coup both at home and at school. My three year old was sent to see the Elementary Principal. Yes, the Principal. Taking that phone call was really fun.

The other, well, he’s having issues, too. Twice I was called by the school office in just one day.

Emotionally spent, I was numbly folding laundry tonight while one insurgent watched cartoons. The other was in the back of the house somewhere.

But I can’t help
Falling in love with you

I went back with an armload of underwear and towels. They were on our bed, talking low.

Shall I stay?
Would it be a sin?

Man to man, they whispered. Speaking words like integrity.
Obedience.
Friendship.
Honor.

If I can’t help
Falling in love with you

He’s only 7 years old. Almost 8. But still – he got it. Wisdom was in the air and it was shared, bestowed from father to son in that brief moment; in this storm of an evening. A “patch of Godlight” right there in the master bedroom.

Take my hand
Take my whole life, too

I can’t imagine facing these parenting mountains on my own.
It would be… insurmountable.
Thankfully, I don’t have to.

For I can’t help
Falling in love with you

Fourteen years ago I fell in love with a guy that wasn’t anything like what I had imagined. Foolishly, I followed him across the country, and married him (much to my mother’s dismay).

Thank God I did.
I just couldn’t help it.
Still can’t.
Every day, over and over again.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

