Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday

April 19, 2010

> I don’t think this requires much explanation. It was the first sunny weekend in ages, and the first days over 70 degrees. As such, some of my old friends finally dropped by. The apple tree is now in full bloom. Chianti, Joseph’s Coat, Iceberg and my favorite, Desprez a la Fleur Jaune (what a deliciously melodramatic name: “Desperate for a yellow flower.”) My marguerites are going bananas, especially Lemon Sugar. I expect Gertrude Jekyll, Pat Austin, Graham Thomas and the exquisitely named Jude the Obscure (what a great novel…have you read? All you English majors, raise your hands!) to all be joining us in the next week or so. When the entire shrubs are in bloom, I’ll be sure to post (brag) some more…

Also, worth noting: I spent all day Saturday at a women’s retreat. It was lovely and enlightening! More on that later, but I will say that I have come to the realization that I am a perfectionist. And though I writhe and squirm in mortification, I have left the photo that features my beloved red bench un-retouched. I consider this a good exercise for the control-freak in me who wants desperately to go in and photoshop out the birdie poop that shows in the photo.

Lest you think I have birds. That poop. In my yard. Heaven forbid. (Big deep breath…)

Today, I’m grateful for my beautiful flowers!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 5:20 pm

    >What's funny about perfectionists is that most people don't notice the source of their mortification until they point it out! Gorgeous garden – and I would never have looked at all those pictures and come away thinking "Ew, bird poop."

  2. April 19, 2010 11:27 pm

    >beautiful! me thinks I should see this garden in person…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

