Skip to content

Time For Change: A New Look, and Why

June 5, 2015

web

Happy Friday, friends.

I’m delighted to have you here! Thank you to those who’ve joined in the conversation since my blog was featured on Charis earlier this week. I’m humbled to be on that list. Humbled, and completely gobsmacked. Me? Really??

Welcome to a new look. Not a major revolution but rather an evolution of what was. In the words of my seven year old, “it was tedious”. (He loves this word. He uses it all the time. And every time, I laugh. Because, he’s SEVEN.)

I needed something new. And I needed a better way of explaining why I’m here.

An illuminated life. What’s that?

Only when we are brave enough to explore the darkness will we discover the infinite power of our light.

~ Brene Brown

It’s a life lived out loud, out in the open. With all the perfectly imperfect bits held up to the light. It’s being real, being honest.

Sometimes it’s funny. Sometimes it’s not.

People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.

~Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

I lived for a long time in the shadow of a monster. I’ve only recently been able to step out from that gloom, but before I did, before that spectre had even left my side, I realized that a perfectly varnished life is not truly living. Like a mosaic, it is the broken pieces of a our reassembled lives that give us beauty.

For what we preach is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake. For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ.

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.

II Corinthians 4:5-77

These are my stories, and sometimes, the stores of others.

I hope you’ll stick around. Leave a word before you go. Let me know you’ve been here. Tell me what you think. Comments – they are such a gift! Leave many, and often.

Maybe my stories will shed a little light on your own. Maybe you’ll leave here feeling a little brighter. When we allow ourselves to shine, we light the way for someone else.

The cracks are how the light gets through.

May grace and peace be yours in abundance,

sig

The conversation continues!  For more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life, join me over on InstagramPinterest, or Facebook

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

Do you Pinterest? Join me over on my new Pinterest Board: Pinterest-y Disasters – a place to collect all the crazy ideas we know will turn out just awful, or to post a really glorious Pinterest Fail.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob Stone permalink
    June 5, 2015 9:29 am

    Your light may shine through the cracks, but your writings are a beautiful window!

  2. Christy permalink
    June 5, 2015 10:21 am

    I love it.

  3. June 5, 2015 12:04 pm

    This is exciting! A new beginning.

  4. June 8, 2015 7:24 am

    My favorite blog! Your light speaks to me…always! Everyone needs a little sparkle, and we need to leave a little sparkle wherever we go! 🙂

    Blessings to you and your new ‘look’,
    KK

  5. patthesilverlady permalink
    June 8, 2015 9:48 am

    Love the new look and what you have shared here! If the past is any indicator of the future many people are going to be encouraged and inspired by your writing. I know, for sure, that I am one of those people. This forum is fresh and promising! Keep up the good work! You are using your special gifts well!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

